Wi fi problems

Discussion in 'Networking' started by allhourrs, Nov 9, 2008.

1. allhourrs

allhourrs

I have just purchased the ACER Aspire One A110L, Atom and I am having trouble connecting wireless,At present I am trying to connect to an orange live box in France where my parents are.The netbbook can see the router ok and I have also tried to sync the router with the netbook but I am still unable to connect .

I can connect with the wire no probs please help.

If any body can help please advise in simple steps as I am a Newbie with these thank you for your time

allhourrs, Nov 9, 2008
  2. allhourrs

mzc

Play around the wifi encryption - WEP/WPA/WPA-PSK. then type the router password.

mzc, Nov 9, 2008
  3. allhourrs

melhiore

You can alternatively look at this: viewtopic.php?f=34&t=1477 as this is very good knowledge base of most of WiFi issues...

melhiore, Nov 9, 2008
  4. allhourrs

nomis

I use an Orange Livebox in the UK with a Linpus Acer Aspire One.

I discovered yesterday that I needed to type the key in upper case (e.g. AB56... not ab56) when entering it on the Aspire One. I think this might be related to the Aspire One recognising it as HEX.

The other settings on mine are 'WPA & WPA2 Personal' but this might be different for you depending on what the router is using.

Remember also to press the one button on your router to put it in pairing mode.

I hope that helps.

nomis, Nov 15, 2008
  5. allhourrs

stevebasnett

I have exactly the same problem - using my English purchased Aspire One in France on Wanadoo/Orange Livebox. I can confirm to you that the 26 digit key is the correct one to use (I've tried all upper/lower case with/without spaces combinations, and I am now satisfied that it must be UPPER CASE with NO spaces).