Where to buy 3G USB modem with Linpus drivers?

Discussion in 'Laptop Hardware' started by phd, Aug 13, 2008.

1. phd

phd

I bought my Acer one just a week ago. The reseller was convinced that it wouldn't be a problem to go to one of our telecom providers (Belgium) and install one of their USB 3G modems.
    I was very disapointed to find out that the models they sell do not come with Linpus Linux drivers...

Can somebody give me a brand and model of a 3G USB modem and maybe a hint where I can buy it?

Or are there other solutions?

REMARK: I am just a simple user of computers and software and it's my first time with Linux (and I like it)

phd, Aug 13, 2008
  2. phd

janss

Well, I don't think any of the 3G modem makers officially supply Linux drivers, so you can just forget about that.
    BUT that doesn't mean that there aren't any drivers and ways to make them work.

I have an Option iCon 225 USB 3G modem myself, and got it working following the steps found in the Option iCON 225 3G-modem -thread.

The One actually has the hso-driver for several usb modems pre-installed, but the darn fools didn't also pre-install any tools to actually use the modems. The pharscape link on that thread leads to installation istructions of hsoconnect and hsolinkcontrol which are needed to use the modem.

There are good instructions on the web about installing several common 3G modems. Many Huawei and Option models are well supported, so I'd go for one of those if possible.

What are the modems that telecom companies offer in there? If you can give us some models, we can give recommendations on what can be used on Linux easily-ish.

janss, Aug 14, 2008
  3. phd

ronmexico

The novatel ovation mc950d is said to be linux ready. I recently got one but havent had a chance to try it with linpus yet. I am currently running xp I will be trying it out with linpus though and i will report back results. I just have to find the time to reload linpus!

ronmexico, Aug 14, 2008
  4. phd

phd