What Linux distro are you using on your Aspire One?

Discussion in 'Linux' started by jhedrotten, Nov 20, 2008.

  1. jhedrotten

    jhedrotten

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Manila, Philippines
    Just want to have some sort of a survey on who's running what. :D
     
    jhedrotten, Nov 20, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. jhedrotten

    dattaway

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas Citeeeeeeeeee, MO
    Gentoo. Nothing compiles better.
     
    dattaway, Nov 20, 2008
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. jhedrotten

    Cesium

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    linpus most days, damn small linux when i feel like breaking things.
     
    Cesium, Nov 20, 2008
    #3
  4. jhedrotten

    JimK

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    0
    Fedora 10 beta (9.92). Also, I replaced my 1GB swap partition with Puppy, but it's not my thing so I'll probably put the swap back at some point.

    EDITED ON 1 DEC. 2008: Update: I'm now using Fedora 10 XFCE spin.
     
    JimK, Nov 20, 2008
    #4
  5. jhedrotten

    DonQuichote

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Xubuntu 8.04. Version 8.10 is a complete hell on my PC, so I think I stick to 8.04 on my A110 for a while.
     
    DonQuichote, Nov 20, 2008
    #5
  6. jhedrotten

    biboklaus

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    i'd fuck1ng agree with that!11!!!11!!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
     
    biboklaus, Nov 20, 2008
    #6
  7. jhedrotten

    hpfx

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    linpus of all fancy acer/linpus added (firefox pluggings for flash/activex/...)
    then my wife can surf all these websites ;) ...
     
    hpfx, Nov 20, 2008
    #7
  8. jhedrotten

    Andysan

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ubuntu Intrepid for meee!
     
    Andysan, Nov 20, 2008
    #8
  9. jhedrotten

    RockDoctor

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    963
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minnesota, USA
    Fedora 10 Preview and Ubuntu 8.10. Two installs of each - one with GNOME, and one with most of GNOME stripped out and a modified LXDE desktop installed.

    Currently testing a pre-Jaunty Jackalope-LXDE install on my desktop before installing it on my AA1. Got a bit of a sound problem - aplay and play both work from the commandline but espeak won't speak. Time to investigate
     
    RockDoctor, Nov 21, 2008
    #9
  10. jhedrotten

    N6546R

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ubuntu 8.10 with some modifications (and the N270 optimized kernel)

    Perry
    www.kidpub.com
     
    N6546R, Nov 21, 2008
    #10
  11. jhedrotten

    scottro

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've lost track. :) My main one is F10 rawhide. I have Intrepid on there, but haven't booted into it for days.
    I keep CentOS on it as well, as its stability is nice, and actually, it runs quite well. Putting it on is a bit of a hassle because the 8169 driver included causes a core dump, but there are workarounds. (I have an article on the CentOS wiki about the problems and fixes.)

    I tried, and had no real complaints, Mandriva 2009, SimplyMepis 8 beta, GOS and kuki. Elive also works reasonbly well.
    On the 120 gig hard drive models, most distributions will install and compile properly.

    Wireless, on all that I've tried will either work with 2.6.26 kernels (and with that kernel, you get the LED) and MadWifi drivers or the 2.6.27 kernels (sysctl options for LED are gone, but you can use the native ath5k driver.)
     
    scottro, Nov 21, 2008
    #11
  12. jhedrotten

    jhedrotten

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Manila, Philippines
    what's lxde? forgive my ignorance but is it much more lightweight but as functional as xfce? is it possible to force it in mandriva one? i don't know, but it might speed things up.
     
    jhedrotten, Nov 21, 2008
    #12
  13. jhedrotten

    Tamrac

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    612
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mandriva 2009 Gnome all the way baby! All the hardware works! The only tweaks you need is to add a couple of lines to a conf file to get the right side SD slot to work, and to auto switch off/on the speaker when headphone is plugged in... that's it! Everything works! Even suspend/sleep mode. And everything is snappy, wven with compiz on. Only downside is the 1:20sec boot time. But I can live with that. :D
     
    Tamrac, Nov 22, 2008
    #13
  14. jhedrotten

    superpp

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mandriva 2009 Gnome here too, incredibly easy to setup.
     
    superpp, Nov 22, 2008
    #14
  15. jhedrotten

    donec

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Messages:
    952
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mandriva 2009 Gnome for me. It's the easiest to get working and has not broken once when the updates come in. OH! No CLI needed and even all the special Fn keys work.
     
    donec, Nov 22, 2008
    #15
  16. jhedrotten

    Issue313

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    http://chris-aceraspireone.blogspot.com/
    Linpus: it's an awful OS but it is fast to wake from sleep.
     
    Issue313, Nov 22, 2008
    #16
  17. jhedrotten

    jhedrotten

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Manila, Philippines
    it's not awful really, requires much CLI tweaking though
     
    jhedrotten, Nov 23, 2008
    #17
  18. jhedrotten

    jhedrotten

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Messages:
    208
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Manila, Philippines
    try fedora 10 final release it's good as well as mandriva one 2009, but for me it's still linpus lite. hahaha :D
     
    jhedrotten, Nov 30, 2008
    #18
  19. jhedrotten

    Ausweider

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    suse 11.1rc1
    11.0 worked too, with very few minor quirks
     
    Ausweider, Dec 1, 2008
    #19
  20. jhedrotten

    csmo

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    0
    What are those minor quirks if you don´t mind me asking, and will they get sorted in the final release of 11.1? What´s the boot time, btw? I´ d love to try OpenSUSE on the AAO, but I´m a little hesitant to install it if too much tweaking is needed albeit I am using the pre-installed Linux Linpus myself at the moment.

    Linpus really does require a lot of unnecessary tweaking (amending main menus/toolbar through XML documents, adding fan control and SD scripts etc. to optimize the AAO--all something that should have been fixed by Acer/Linpus a long time ago by releasing an update to circumvent the aforementioned tweaks (which can be a nuisance in the long run).

    I´ m happy about the system´s boot times although it is beginning to get slower and slower already after only a few weeks of usage which I don´t like and I´m also a little annoyed as I said earlier that it can be a bit tricky at times to do the most simplest things such as amending apps/icons in main menu and toolbar. Overall though, nothing so far I have tried beats the speed of Linpus. I like that I can cold boot my AAO and be on the web in less than a minute. If boot and response times weren´t important to me, and if I could be arsed to go through the hassle of switching from ext3 to ext2 file system, I´d be running UNR (Ubuntu Netbook Remix), but that´s another story some other time some other place.
     
    csmo, Dec 2, 2008
    #20
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.