What Laptop Should I buy as an Architecture Student?

Discussion in 'Which Laptop should I buy?' started by AimzVador, Jul 22, 2016.

1. AimzVador

AimzVador

Hello, I am currently in my first year of University, majoring in Architecture, and my professors have been telling me to start looking for good, easy to carry, and if possible, affordable laptops for me to use in the next semester, when we start with our CAD lessons.

I'm not really a big techie, but I know some of the new trends. I already have some affordable laptops in mind, but I wouldn't mind adding some more suggestions to the list. I would prefer to have thin, portable laptops which I can carry around anywhere, without sacrificing processing speed, mainly because I travel around a lot. I would really love it if there are laptops that meet these parameters without being too expensive, but I don't really have high hopes. Most of the good, portable laptops I find are either really expensive, or way too bulky. The price I'm aiming for is around $500 or less, which seems a bit low, from my research, but I'm willing to pay more if there is no other choice.

AimzVador, Jul 22, 2016
  2. AimzVador

Vash

You should rather aim for certain specifications within reputable brands.
    Any top brands should offer good quality and customer service.

As for your needs, something with a Core i5 and 8GB RAM will be good enough. Anything with a screen from 12~15" should do fine. Touchscreen is a bonus while not a must, but if you are like me then once you have gone touchscreen you will never go back. With $500 budget, you should be able to get something like that. Traditional laptops these days are cheap.