User-friendly desktop switching (XFCE<->Acer Desktop) UPDATE

Discussion in 'Linux' started by NaNo, Aug 20, 2008.

  1. NaNo

    NaNo

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    The desktop-switch-0.3-1.i386.rpm implements a user-friendly desktop switching between normal (XFCE) desktop and the Acer desktop.

    Download Desktop Switch RPM at
    http://www.iphpbb3.com/forum/39151476nx ... -t218.html

    Decompress the RPM
    gunzip desktop-switch-0.3-1.i386.rpm.gz

    Install the Desktop Switch
    sudo rpm -i desktop-switch-0.3-1.i386.rpm

    After installation, you have to klick the new panel icon to switch between desktops.

    Please notice that this works only with the original AAO Linpus XFCE environment!
    This RPM doesn't install, remove, download any further packages/files or modify you original AAO installation extremely!

    UPDATE
    [*] desktop-switch-0.3 should not have problems with Wifi keys and NetworkManager.

    ---

    Remove the Desktop Switch with
    sudo rpm -e desktop-switch-0.3-1
     
    NaNo, Aug 20, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. NaNo

    animal

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: User-friendly desktop switching (XFCE <-> Acer Desktop)

    Hi.
    It looks like the link is wrong. :|

    I been looking for something like this for weeks, thanks in advance. :)
     
    animal, Aug 20, 2008
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. NaNo

    rbil

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    730
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    The Wet Coast, Canada
    Re: User-friendly desktop switching (XFCE <-> Acer Desktop)

    Nothing wrong with the link.

    Cheers.
     
    rbil, Aug 20, 2008
    #3
  4. NaNo

    daymz

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Montreal, QC, Canada
    Re: User-friendly desktop switching (XFCE <-> Acer Desktop)

    That works GREAT!

    Thanks for the RPM NaNo !

    Is there any way to choose which way the machine boots ? As in, boot by default to Aspire Desktop, or by default to regular XFCE desktop ?
     
    daymz, Aug 20, 2008
    #4
  5. NaNo

    Sr.Freson

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Spain
    Re: User-friendly desktop switching (XFCE <-> Acer Desktop)

    That's wonderful!!! Thanks NaNo

    Mine boots with the xfce desktop as the default one, so just great :)
     
    Sr.Freson, Aug 20, 2008
    #5
  6. NaNo

    Guest Guest

    Re: User-friendly desktop switching (XFCE <-> Acer Desktop)

    so if i'd already added icons to the aspire panels this won't work?
    edit:tried it and works fine. thanks for this.
    One question any way to get it to activate the compiz when going to the normal xfce as i have to go to a terminal and type compiz-manager and to change wallpaper?
     
    Guest, Aug 20, 2008
    #6
  7. NaNo

    daymz

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Montreal, QC, Canada
    Re: User-friendly desktop switching (XFCE <-> Acer Desktop)

    Actually, I think it boots to the last-used one, if I'm not mistaken. I can't say for sure, I'm mostly (read: always) in the XFCE desktop.

    Again, million thanks NaNo, I love your Desktop Switch RPM !
     
    daymz, Aug 20, 2008
    #7
  8. NaNo

    Nudnik_de

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: User-friendly desktop switching (XFCE <-> Acer Desktop)

    Works fine with on exception:
    When rebooting from standard XFCE Desktop mode it starts the standard XFCE dsktop again. So far so so good. Unfortunately the error message: "Internal Error, failed to initialize HAL!" appears. As you can imagine, WIFI is not working.
    When switching to AA1 simple mode and rebooting from there everything is fine.

    Has anybody a solution for this?
     
    Nudnik_de, Aug 20, 2008
    #8
  9. NaNo

    Nudnik_de

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2008
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: User-friendly desktop switching (XFCE <-> Acer Desktop)

    My problem has been solved by deinstalling desktop-switch and reinstalling it again.

    Unfortunately the next issue occurs: Network Manager forgets WIFI password. Everytime it connects with wireless it requests the password. This happens in XFCE standard desktop mode as well as om AA1 simple mode.

    Has anyone had the same problem?
     
    Nudnik_de, Aug 22, 2008
    #9
  10. NaNo

    snowlord

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Uppsala, Sweden
    Re: User-friendly desktop switching (XFCE <-> Acer Desktop)

    Very nice! Any way to make the Home button automatically invoke the Xfce-menu? Like Ctrl-Esc does now, that is.
     
    snowlord, Aug 22, 2008
    #10
  11. NaNo

    daymz

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Montreal, QC, Canada
    Re: User-friendly desktop switching (XFCE <-> Acer Desktop)

    I'm not having this problem at all. My AA1 boots fine into the XFCE desktop, and in the Acer desktop. The WIFI still works in both setups and I have no error message.

    I would guess at a conflicting package you may have installed or upgraded.
     
    daymz, Aug 22, 2008
    #11
  12. NaNo

    wst50

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: User-friendly desktop switching (XFCE <-> Acer Desktop)

    This package made my life so much easier. Thankyou so much.
    Also, until I installed it, my desktop didn't have any icons, but now it does :D
     
    wst50, Aug 22, 2008
    #12
  13. NaNo

    sideways

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: User-friendly desktop switching (XFCE <-> Acer Desktop)

    Awesome tip, best post on the "How To" forum so far :)

    To make it completely obvious:

    The direct download link is http://www.iphpbb3.com/forum/download/f ... 1895&id=11

    press Alt+F2, type 'terminal', click 'Run'

    type this in the terminal window
    Code:
    gunzip Downloads/desktop-switch*
    sudo rpm -ihv Downloads/desktop-switch*
    two new icons in bottom left of panel bar should appear, one is the full menu, the other is the 'switcher'.

    Of all the guides I've read this is the only one that works (even after reboot)

    (If you have messed up your default install already then this may not work, do a restore, the dvd restore disc can be transferred to a usb stick, see page 2 of the instructions, restore from usb stick took ~10mins on my 120gb model)
     
    sideways, Aug 22, 2008
    #13
  14. NaNo

    lotus49

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Re: User-friendly desktop switching (XFCE <-> Acer Desktop)

    Thanks for doing this NaNo, it's very useful and simple to install.
     
    lotus49, Aug 22, 2008
    #14
  15. NaNo

    johien

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Re: User-friendly desktop switching (XFCE <-> Acer Desktop)

    Thanks NaNo, this works perfect. Better than all the other desktop scripts.
    This one doesn't mess up the original software, and you get a complete working xfce desktop enviroment.
    Nice! This makes the AAO more fun to use.
     
    johien, Aug 23, 2008
    #15
  16. NaNo

    Rofa

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: User-friendly desktop switching (XFCE <-> Acer Desktop)

     
    Rofa, Aug 23, 2008
    #16
  17. NaNo

    Rofa

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: User-friendly desktop switching (XFCE <-> Acer Desktop)



    OOPS - I messed the previous post up - sorry - try again!!!!!!!



    Well that worked nicely thank you. But I have 4 icons on the desktop = SD,Trash,Home,File system - and clicking on any one produces the same screen - file manager. Also I don't like the rat wallpaper. Could someone please point me to where I can change these - it's presumably fairly straightforward????? Thank you!
     
    Rofa, Aug 23, 2008
    #17
  18. NaNo

    sideways

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: User-friendly desktop switching (XFCE <-> Acer Desktop)

    They open filemanger at the SD card top directory, Trashcan directory, Home directory and root (top) directory respectively, this is the expected behaviour.

    To change wallpaper rightclick the desktop, select Settings->Desktop Settings, and choses a different file from the Image section, there are only a few but you can download others from (for example)

    http://www.xfce-look.org/index.php?xcontentmode=411
     
    sideways, Aug 23, 2008
    #18
  19. NaNo

    sideways

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: User-friendly desktop switching (XFCE <-> Acer Desktop)

    Nano, this is a really great package so let's make it even better, I have a couple of (minor) issues

    1. Custom Wallpaper setting is not remembered after reboot (Set in Settings -> Display Settings)

    FIXED: just make sure the wallpaper is in the default directory /usr/share/xfce4/backdrops/

    2. WEP password has to be re-entered twice after each reboot - it isn't saved?

    FIXED: add 'sudo' to the beginning of the '/usr/bin/nm-applet &' line in /etc/rc/d/slim/nowait.sh (you can also delete the 'sleep 3' line a little above this)
     
    sideways, Aug 23, 2008
    #19
  20. NaNo

    lotus49

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Re: User-friendly desktop switching (XFCE <-> Acer Desktop)

    Yes, I have.

    I am starting from scratch (ie clean installation of Linpus) to see what the cause is so I shall report back later tonight with the results.
     
    lotus49, Aug 23, 2008
    #20
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.