USB UMTS Modem Huawei E270

Discussion in 'Laptop Hardware' started by diablo7878, Jul 12, 2008.

  1. diablo7878

    diablo7878

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anyone has an umts usb modem working.

    The network manager shows the device but cant connect. There isnt the posibility to edit the connection...

    ___

    I tried umtsmon and the untsmon can find the modem and the mobile network but the connection failed.

    ___

    I tried to edit the wvdial.conf and start wvdial from the console.
    The connection is up and shows the dns entrys.
    But the resolv.conf is empty.
    Ping only works to IP not to urls...

    Firefox doesnt get a connection not with the ip nor with the url.....


    HELP PLEASE...
     
    diablo7878, Jul 12, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. diablo7878

    lotus49

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    If you can ping external sites by IP address then your modem is already working.

    You appear to have a problem with your DNS configuration. Try creating a resolv.conf file with the following contents:

    nameserver <IP address of nameserver 1>
    nameserver <IP address of nameserver 2>

    I obviously don't know what the IP addresses of your nameservers are but try the one appropriate to your ISP or use the OpenDNS servers (see opendns.org).

    It is worth trying to see if you can ping the listed nameservers, if you cannot, you are wasting your time.
     
    lotus49, Jul 13, 2008
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. diablo7878

    diablo7878

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    If I manually add the dns servers to the resolv.conf, I can dial in with "wvdial" and it works.

    But why cant wvdial do this by itself, like it works on other linux PCs?

    The problem with the manually editing the resolv.conv is that the networkmanager would overwrite it the next time you go online over WLAN...

    Is there another place to set the DNS?


    ****

    The best method would be over the networkmanager - but the Edit button of the USB Vendor device is grey.....
    Where store the networkmanager its settings?
    Maybe I could edit the setings in an ini file???
     
    diablo7878, Jul 15, 2008
    #3
  4. diablo7878

    glibdud

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    If it uses PPP, I know there's a "usepeerdns" option that pppd can use to grab DNS info from the other end of the connection.
     
    glibdud, Jul 15, 2008
    #4
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.