Ubuntu installation issue both Hardy and Intrepid

Discussion in 'Linux' started by dabheeruz, Nov 1, 2008.

  1. dabheeruz

    dabheeruz

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    So seeking two answers..actually..

    I tried installing ubuntu Hardy 8.0x from cdrom driver (external) . Right when I choose the installation option from the boot menu , i get booted off to CONSOLE screen (initramfs). It seems it can't initialize the video. has someone experienced the same?

    After this failure I thought I would give 8.10 intrepid a try, I was able to boot and install it fine however the resolution I got was only 800x600?? When I checked my xorg.conf , it says its using the VESA driver. Has someone experienced the same? any fixes?

    -Dabheeruz
     
    dabheeruz, Nov 1, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. dabheeruz

    spinnekopje

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are the cd's ok? I've also had a problem with that, only the third one worked. (I have lots of CD-RW and I only use them to do a fresh install)
     
    spinnekopje, Nov 2, 2008
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. dabheeruz

    melhiore

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,503
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bolton, Lancashire, UK
    Funny enough quality of CD recording depends on recording speed. I'm always burning ISOs with 4x speed to prevent possible problems and to keep ability to run those CDs also on other machines. Couple of times I found this strange but it works for me...

    You may try burn CD with lowest possible speed...
     
    melhiore, Nov 2, 2008
    #3
  4. dabheeruz

    scottro

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2008
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    0
    Simply confirmation of melhiore's point. In this day and age of fast burners, it seems that people make more and more coasters. Burn at 4x, especially if you think that the quality of the burned CD might be a problem.
     
    scottro, Nov 2, 2008
    #4
  5. dabheeruz

    bit-ninja

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Make sure you are using 8.04.1 and not the plain 8.04.
     
    bit-ninja, Nov 3, 2008
    #5
  6. dabheeruz

    dabheeruz

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Alright so finally I ended up creating a bootable usb and from the same cd created the bootable usb and it worked flawlessly. Maybe a badly recorded cd? hmm..don't know.
    Thanks everyone for all your help.
     
    dabheeruz, Nov 3, 2008
    #6
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.