touch screen software under UNR 9.04 - HELP!

Discussion in 'Linux' started by simbeb, Sep 13, 2009.

1. simbeb

simbeb

I have fitted the solderless touch screen panel on a A110. I have installed the drivers and calibration software, then calibrated successfully under Windows XP.
    I then decided to install Ubuntu Netbook Remix 9.04 because XP was horribly slow on the ssd. I have tried to install the software supplied for Ubuntu by following the guide below:

Every time I type 'make new' at step 3.1 I get an error message "*** cannot make new" or something along those lines. I am not getting anywhere with this.

Now I have also found out that some touch screen software was built-in in UNR and there is a touch screen calibration tool. But this does not work either.

PLease can you explain me how to install the supplied software, step by-step please as I am not a Linux expert. :(

Cheers

simbeb, Sep 13, 2009
  2. simbeb

DonQuichote

I think those lines are important. Also, the site you got the drivers from probably says what they depend on. Now here's something important: you will need those packages, but also the "-dev" packages installed (with the normal package manager, such as apt-get or synaptic). So if the driver depends on libqt4, for example, you will need both libqt4 and libqt4-dev installed. The "-dev" packages are for compiling dependent programs.

DonQuichote, Sep 13, 2009
  3. simbeb

simbeb

Well. Thank you for that but I did not understand a word. As I said, I am a Linux newbie. I tried to do exactly what the instructions said, hoping that following them word by word would be sufficient. Ideally, I would get help from someone who has installed the solderless touch screen (and I know there are a few of us around) and have tried it on UNR