Switch acer desktop <-> xfce from panel (icon)

Discussion in 'Modding and Customization' started by adcomp, Aug 18, 2008.

  1. adcomp

    adcomp

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Belgium
    Hello .. ( sorry for my poor english )

    Some people ask me how I do this 'switch desktop' :
    If someone can help me to "translate" this little howto ..

    TODO : switch between 'Acer Desktop' <-> 'Xfce Desktop' from panel

    1) to switch I made this little script : http://www.ad-comp.be/data/files/src/changedesktop.sh
    Code:
    #!/bin/sh
    
    # Test if easy mode (acer)
    ps aux | grep xfdesktop2 | grep '/usr/bin'
    
    #  0 = Acer Desktop  
    if [ $? = 0 ]; then
    	killall xfdesktop2
    	sleep .5
    	/usr/bin/xfdesktop-xfce &
    else
    	killall xfdesktop-xfce
    	sleep .5
    	/usr/bin/xfdesktop2 &
    fi
    
    2) download it in your home path ( or copy/paste )

    3) you have to set file permissions. Open a terminal ,
    Code:
    chmod +x changedesktop.sh
    4) now add a launcher to panel .. open terminal ( or ALT+F2 ) :
    Code:
    xfce4-panel -a
    ###
    # UPDATE 1
    ###


    Summary :D
    Follow instructions and it should be ok ;)

    1) open terminal : ALT+F2 , 'xterm' or 'xfterm4'
    2) download script in your home path
    3) change file permission [ chmod ]
    4) move the script to /usr/local/bin [ with sudo because you need to be root ]
    5) add launcher to panel [ xfce4-panel -a ]

    here some screenshot to help ( in french :ugeek: )

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    ###
    # UPDATE 2
    ###


    If the script is in your download' directory ( /home/user/Downloads or /mnt/home/Downloads if you have SD on storage expansion ) :
    Code:
    [user@localhost ~]$ cd ~/Downloads
    [user@localhost Downloads]$ ls
    changedesktop.sh
    [user@localhost Downloads]$ chmod +x changedesktop.sh
    [user@localhost Downloads]$ sudo mv changedesktop.sh /usr/local/bin/changedesktop
    [user@localhost Downloads]$ cd
    [user@localhost ~]$ xfce4-panel -a
    
    Now add a launcher to panel ( command = changedesktop ) ..
     
    adcomp, Aug 18, 2008
    #1
  2. adcomp

    clairvaux

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Switch acer desktop <-> xfce

    Will the updater work after this?
     
    clairvaux, Aug 18, 2008
    #2
  3. adcomp

    adcomp

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Belgium
    Re: Switch acer desktop <-> xfce

    Yes .. why not ? all work fine for me ..
     
    adcomp, Aug 18, 2008
    #3
  4. adcomp

    clairvaux

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Switch acer desktop <-> xfce

    Ah I see, unlike the other script, this one doesn't replace vital parts of the OS. Very well done! I like this a lot. Simple, but complete :cool:
     
    clairvaux, Aug 19, 2008
    #4
  5. adcomp

    Sid

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    632
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK - (most locations)
    Re: Switch acer desktop <-> xfce


    Both modifications are good, note that the other script removes the acer modified items, giving better customization options.
     
    Sid, Aug 19, 2008
    #5
  6. adcomp

    pon10

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Switch acer desktop <-> xfce

    Ok this i my first Linux OS i have ever worked with so i am a nobe!

    i cant get the launcher to work when i put the script in the teminal it works but then i closed the teminal and it goes to crap! when i i am in the properties of the new launcher i put the script in the command line but when i closed it all nothing happens???

    http://dl.getdropbox.com/u/32503/Screenshot.png
     
    pon10, Aug 19, 2008
    #6
  7. adcomp

    equani

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Switch acer desktop <-> xfce

    Have you found a way to run the command at startup? (To boot directly to the xfce desktop)
    I tried different types of startup scripts, but apparently the Acer Desktop launches after the scripts are executed, so it boots to the Acer Desktop.
     
    equani, Aug 19, 2008
    #7
  8. adcomp

    adcomp

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Belgium
    Re: Switch acer desktop <-> xfce

    :shock: you do it in wrong way :lol:

    You have to put 'where is the script' in the command line .. not copy the script into ;)
    Save the script in your home path ( /home/user ) and write something like this in command line : /home/user/changedesktop

    But if you want to launch it by hand , I think that's better to move the script to /usr/local/bin and use it with "Run program" ( ALT+F2 )
    Code:
    [user@localhost ~]$ sudo mv changedesktop /usr/local/bin
    now you can use it from anywhere .. not only in your home path. with ALT+F2 , simply write 'changedesktop'
    Same thing with command line (launcher) .. simply write 'changedesktop'.

    I know my explaination are not very clear .. again sorry for my poor english but if this can help someone :geek:

    David [a.k.a] ADcomp from Belgium :ugeek:
     
    adcomp, Aug 19, 2008
    #8
  9. adcomp

    adcomp

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Belgium
    Re: Switch acer desktop <-> xfce

    Yep .. I didn't test this , but you can try to move the script in '~/.config/autostart/' .. I don't think That's the better way to do it ...
    Code:
    [user@localhost ~]$ cp changedesktop .config/autostart
    :ugeek: bye
     
    adcomp, Aug 19, 2008
    #9
  10. adcomp

    equani

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Switch acer desktop <-> xfce


    Thanks alot mate! Didnt even think of that option :p
    :mrgreen:


    -- Edit --
    Didnt work :(
    Too bad. Would have been so easy a way.
    I guess you could try prevent the system from running the Acer Desktop, but it just leaves me wondering, what other stuff that affects on.
     
    equani, Aug 19, 2008
    #10
  11. adcomp

    bassic83

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Switch acer desktop <-> xfce

    I was wondering- if you can find where the Acer Desktop command is, comment it out (#) and put the xfce desktop command as the next line, would it boot into the xfce desktop then?
     
    bassic83, Aug 19, 2008
    #11
  12. adcomp

    pon10

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Switch acer desktop <-> xfce


    COOL!! Thank you!

    If you just now just can tell me how to run compix at startup? and remove that nasty screensaver You will be my personal linux guru!!
     
    pon10, Aug 19, 2008
    #12
  13. adcomp

    sturmtiger

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Westerwald, Germany
    Re: Switch acer desktop <-> xfce

    Hi there,

    at first, sorry for my bad english, too... I'm from Germany...

    I tried to set this switch-button to change the desktop, but it doesn't work. So I decided that I delete all the stuff.. If i want to do something other, I'd do it with the terminal....

    So I delete the changedestkop-file and the folder... then I tried to delete the button (here it's beside the shutdown-button on the right side), but i don't know how... with "xfce4-panel -a" i only could add these button's (now I have two there... both without any function) :roll:

    I hope you could help me...

    Greetings,
    Alex

    PS:
    1 GB of more RAM will arrive tomorrow... 8GB-SD-Cars will arrive the day after tomorrow :D

    PPS:
    Damn! I like this little thing :mrgreen:
     
    sturmtiger, Aug 19, 2008
    #13
  14. adcomp

    mmmike

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Switch acer desktop <-> xfce

    I also had a problem removing panel buttons. Documentation was not a lot of help since it appears moch functionality is missing from this distribution. Would be nice to right click and Delete like they said, but...

    I ended up editing /home/user/.config/xfce4/panel/panels.xml and removing the lines for the button(s) I added. Okay, so I added a couple not realizing where they were going :)

    Cheers,
    Mike
     
    mmmike, Aug 19, 2008
    #14
  15. adcomp

    adcomp

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Belgium
    Re: Switch acer desktop <-> xfce

    Hello Mike & Alex ,

    If you want to remove panel buttons :
    simply launch 'xfce4-panel -a' and drag/drop the button you want to remove from the panel onto the xfce window panel

    :D

    I hope this help you ..
     
    adcomp, Aug 20, 2008
    #15
  16. adcomp

    Guest Guest

    Re: Switch acer desktop <-> xfce

    Just to clarify - I download script and save in /usr/local/bin. Then open terminal and paste this in chmod +x changedesktop.sh followed by this after xfce4-panel -a and select lancher or something in the window that opens and then i need to do something else to use it?
     
    Guest, Aug 20, 2008
    #16
  17. adcomp

    adcomp

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Belgium
    Re: Switch acer desktop <-> xfce

    Summary :D
    Follow instructions and it should be ok ;)

    1) open terminal : ALT+F2 , 'xterm' or 'xfterm4'
    2) download script in your home path
    3) change file permission [ chmod ]
    4) move the script to /usr/local/bin [ with sudo because you need to be root ]
    5) add launcher to panel [ xfce4-panel -a ]

    here some screenshot to help ( in french :ugeek: )

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Hope this help you ..
     
    adcomp, Aug 21, 2008
    #17
  18. adcomp

    Guest Guest

    Re: Switch acer desktop <-> xfce

    Works but how did you get the dock on the bottom?
     
    Guest, Aug 22, 2008
    #18
  19. adcomp

    pon10

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Switch acer desktop <-> xfce

    Yes how??? :eek: please fill us in!
     
    pon10, Aug 22, 2008
    #19
  20. adcomp

    adcomp

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Belgium
    Re: Switch acer desktop <-> xfce

    wbar ..
    http://code.google.com/p/wbar/

    nb : you have to compile it .. :ugeek:

    If I have some free time this w-e , I try to make a package (rpm) ..

    Some tips if you want to compile :
    1- download wbar in your home path : http://wbar.googlecode.com/files/wbar-1.3.3.tbz2
    2 - install this packages : gcc-c++ , make , imlib2-devel
    3 - extract archive and read "README" ( :twisted: )
    4 - compile and install .. :mrgreen:

    Code:
    sudo yum install gcc-c++ make imlib2-devel
    tar xvfj wbar-1.3.3.tbz2
    cd wbar-1.3.3
    make
    sudo make install
    My 2 cents ..
     
    adcomp, Aug 22, 2008
    #20
Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.