SSD Vs. Cloud

Discussion in 'Storage' started by UpgradeMe, Mar 22, 2016.

1. UpgradeMe

UpgradeMe

How much does having a solid state drive save versus using common cloud storage?

I will be uploading and keeping a stash of videos for my channel, and I am debating whether I should stick to cloud storage or just move to a better SSD. I have zero experience with them however, and was wondering if anyone has an experience between the pros and cons of the two. thanks!

UpgradeMe, Mar 22, 2016
  2. UpgradeMe

IBMPC8088

I'm not sure I understand your question here.

I wouldn't look at using an SSD versus cloud storage in the same terms, but rather from the standpoint of security over local storage be it solid state or magnetic.

If you're looking to get a lot of space inexpensively or for as cheap as possible, then using a really large magnetic drive or (for a little more reliability) using a cluster of them in a RAID arrangement, would be the most cost-effective way to go.

The prices on SSD drives have been approaching the realm of magnetic drives increasingly faster over the past few years, so it may get to the point that SSDs are on the same price level as magnetic drives, or might even become cheaper if the current technology trends and advancements with solid state technology continue.

Athough some people find cloud storage to be convenient, and it has become very cheap for anything that isn't of value to you to store out there, the problem I have always had with it (and why it does not work for me personally) is that once it is uploaded to a random server, it is distributed hundreds or thousands of times to unknown locations.

If there is any sensitive data or information you have that you did not want public or published globally for anyone and everyone to have access to, then you should always avoid storing anything in unknown distributed servers (cutely called "cloud" for marketing sake), and just keep things local.