SSD or HDD ?

Discussion in 'Storage' started by umair, Jul 27, 2016.

1. umair

umair

Hi, I need help from experienced users,

I am a graphic designer and use Photoshop for image editing/grapich design.....

I decide to buy a laptop with 256gb SSD and then buy a 1tb HDD as external hard disk, what your thoughts on this?
    or simply should i buy laptop with 1tb hard disk?

umair, Jul 27, 2016
    IBMPC8088 likes this.
  2. umair

something back

Welcome to the laptop forums site

It's the graphics's card that more important for your usage.

256 gb ssd are so cheap, check amazon.

It may pay you to go for a laptop with a 1tb hdd fitted then buy
    the ssd separately then swap them over.

If you choose this option you can save money.

The software you will require is called “mini tool partition wizard”

This will allow you to copy/clone your hdd system over to your new ssd drive

https://www.partitionwizard.com/free-partition-manager.html

something back, Jul 27, 2016
    umair, IcyBC and IBMPC8088 like this.
  3. umair

IBMPC8088

Yes, I second the graphics card on being important here for the graphic design work. With Adobe Photoshop you'll end up needing the extra space for scratch disks, but if you can get a system with a high amount of DDR3 or DDR4 ram on it, you can shift the majority of what you need for the graphics editing to ram, and then page the rest to the hard drive in a scratch disk file.

You'll have a lot of space to do that with on a 1TB hard drive, but the magnetic hard drives are really slow by comparison, and you'll start to feel it without defragmenting often with a 5400rpm laptop drive (or even a 7200rpm drive under stress).