Solderless touch screen no reaction HELP!

Discussion in 'Modding and Customization' started by simbeb, Dec 5, 2009.

1. simbeb

simbeb

Hi

To start with, I am no newbie to fitting a solderless touch screen to the AA1 as I have done it successfully twice recently, so I know how to fit it.

I bought my 3rd one from an Ebay seller called Visualtouchworld and it turned out to be a soft flexible one - I wasn't impressed because that one gives a weird feeling to the touch experience and also leaves a kind od lcd stain on the display for a fraction of a second every time you touch it. Anyway,
    I fitted it (with a lot of difficulty because I have the 3G model of AA1 and because all the wires are wrapped, making them even thicker and even nmore difficult to fit in the AA1's hinges.

1st problem
    Before I even switch the AA1 on: it makes air bubbles in the middle, between the screen and the touch screen. It looks like a liquid is trapped in between the 2 screens. I thought I had left a protective film on the inner side of the touch screen, but that wasn't the case.

2nd problem:
    No input and no output from the USB controller board: the touch screen appears to be seen by Windows 7, but not recognised and not powered. And obviously, the webcam is not powered either - that's although the controller board seems to heat up.

Any suggestions? Should I just assume that the controller board is faulty, remove everything and send it back to the seller? Help!

cheers :(

simbeb, Dec 5, 2009
  2. simbeb

simbeb

Alright. No response in a couple days. But I can update you on it: