Skype and Software installs...

Discussion in 'Linux' started by thwapy, Mar 7, 2009.

1. thwapy

thwapy

Hi. I am completely new to linux. I have tried to open pirus and the package manager appears but then freezes part way through, I have been patient and left it a good while but it will not load up....

I want to put Skype on my daughters aspire... I have downloaded skype from its website and the skype RPM package is in the downloads file. When I click open with software installer the 'installing packages' box appears but nothing comes up to click 'apply' to.

I then tried downloading the software from acer.com/aspireone. I extracted skype.sh.zip and opened skype.sh, it then starts to install but again it freezes just before the programme has installed?

Can someone PLEASE help, this is driving me a bit mad !

Thanks

Jay

thwapy, Mar 7, 2009
  2. thwapy

barrie

Hi Jay,

Try this.

1. Go to http://www.skype.com and download the version for Fedora 7and save it in your Downloads folder.
    2. Select open with package manager.
    3. Click open and type your password and confirm you want to install this.
    4. It should then install and you will get a “software installed successfully” message.
    5. Click remove to delete the package.

Now just right click on the desktop and go to network and you will see Skype there.

barrie, Mar 7, 2009
  3. thwapy

thwapy

Hi Barrie

I had tried that first, package manager opens, I type my password and then the update box appears however it just freezes.

I have just tried using 'live update' and again that has frozen near the start of the update.......

Thanks for the advice though, any ideas?

thwapy, Mar 7, 2009
  4. thwapy

barrie

Hi thwapy,

Just want to check that you defiantly downloaded the version for Fedora 7?

Also the fact that your live update freezes may point to a connection problem, are you using Wi-Fi or hard wired, or both?

barrie, Mar 7, 2009
  5. thwapy

thwapy