restore to out of the box

Discussion in 'Linux' started by Joy P, Aug 4, 2009.

1. Joy P

Joy P

I've had my AA1 ( linpus) for a few months, and am now passing it on - upgrading! Obviously I need to restore it to the "out of the box" condition.
    I've got the recovery disk, but am nervous, after reading some of the posts, about making a recovery USB stick (I have another computer with a DVD drive) and about using it.

Is it really simple? Do I just put in the disk and a USB stick, put the contents of the disk on the stick and then put it in the Acer and boot it up? Will it crash both the computers? Please can someone tell me step by step how to do it simply, easily and reliably!

Joy P, Aug 4, 2009
  2. Joy P

sandydoull

sandydoull, Aug 4, 2009
  3. Joy P

Joy P

Sorry, but I'm a total novice when it comes to these things. The guide you referred me to made me panic! Just tell me I can put in the recovery disk (to my other computer's CD drive), copy the contents to a USB stick, insert that into my AA1, and all will be well!

Or is that too much to ask? I'm a little miffed - I originally bought the AA1 because I was given to understand that Linux was a simple process, but I've been wrestling with it for months and I guess my mind just doesn't work that way. I'm quite good with computers generally, but I suppose you're either a Windows person or you aren't!

So, in very simple terms, please tell me how to restore the machine to its original state. It has occurred to me to simply delete everything I've put on it (e-mail accounts, wireless connections, etc.), but then there is the problem of the password, and I don't know how to get through that.

Joy P, Aug 4, 2009
  4. Joy P

Joy P