Replacing the LCD-panel

Discussion in 'Modding and Customization' started by paralyzah, Sep 3, 2008.

  1. paralyzah

    paralyzah

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    Would it be possible to replace the LCD-panel with a higher resolution one? Since I'm guessing the answer is yes, I have some more questions:

    Where would I be able to find such panels for sale? I'm looking for 1280x800 or something like that, or at least a panel with more decent amount and quality of colors (yes, I know things would get small and that it may be expencive).

    Are there custom ways to attached these panels - thickness, cables and such - or is it somewhat standarized?

    Would this make it easier to make it into a touch screen (this is not my primary objective, and I know there is a whole other post on that, but so far it seems their unsuccessful).
     
    paralyzah, Sep 3, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. paralyzah

    this-is-me

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I know this is really outside the realm of some of the members of this forum, but I am also interested in replacement of the LCD screen. A 1280x800 LCD screen would be sweet because I am more used to that than the current 1024x600. I am so interested in it, I would probably be willing to pay "through the nose" to get one. I can install it myself if necessary.
     
    this-is-me, Oct 2, 2008
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. paralyzah

    melhiore

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,503
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bolton, Lancashire, UK
    There is couple of things you have to consider:

    1. LCD it self - you have to find right one (size),
    2. Inverter must be right for LCD and computer construction (all voltage, signals etc.)
    3. Compatibility with graphic card,
    4. Drivers.

    If you can collect all this there is nothing to stop you from changing the LCD... :)
     
    melhiore, Oct 2, 2008
    #3
  4. paralyzah

    Source IT

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I may be able to help here guys.
    My company (www.sourceits.com) has access to a number of different computer parts, although I am not the most technical person on the planet I do know that I should be able to find the correct upgrade providing someone can get me the model number and manufacturer of the LCD panel itself (found on a barcode on the back of the panel once the casing is removed) I should be able to find your upgrade.

    Please contact me with this info if you dare to take your notebook apart, and I would be happy to do the rest of the work for you. sales@sourceits.com
     
    Source IT, Oct 2, 2008
    #4
  5. paralyzah

    this-is-me

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was so excited when I read your post that I disassembled the screen immediately - while the AA1 was still on!
    Here is the information you may need:
    [​IMG][​IMG] [​IMG][​IMG] [​IMG][​IMG]
     
    this-is-me, Oct 3, 2008
    #5
  6. paralyzah

    bouli

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    How did you remove the screen to do the replacement?
     
    bouli, Dec 5, 2008
    #6
  7. paralyzah

    freddan83

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    i just broke my lcd, first dropped the computer from the table wich it survived but i had my cell connected through usb and that one fell too, landed on the lcd och broke it..

    so if one of you ever upgrade to a new lcd i would happily buy your old one... or if you know where i can buy a new one that would be nice too
     
    freddan83, Dec 11, 2008
    #7
  8. paralyzah

    this-is-me

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, the guys from sourceits don't seem to be in a rush to find us a suitable replacement screen or I would be happy to sell you my old one once I got a new one. If you are in a hurry you can get a replacement screen from them.
     
    this-is-me, Dec 11, 2008
    #8
  9. paralyzah

    dnrsha

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think the guy from Source-It is looking for a Manufacturer and Model # of the LCD you want to upgrade to, not the one you currently have.
     
    dnrsha, Dec 11, 2008
    #9
  10. paralyzah

    freddan83

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    freddan83, Dec 12, 2008
    #10
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.