Novatel U727 on Bell Mobility

Discussion in 'Linux' started by vic622, May 29, 2009.

  1. vic622

    vic622

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm trying to get my Novatel U727 (aka USB727) working in Ubuntu (kernel 2.6.28-11) on Bell Mobility network in Canada.
    I've been able to get it to show up when I lsusb, but I'm at a loss how to get it to connect to the 3G network and how to control (?) it.
    I have it working under Windows (Vista Home - on my laptop & XP Home on my AA1).
    Has anyone got it running on Bell Mobility?
    I'm new to linux so patience & any help would be appreciated,
    Vic
     
    vic622, May 29, 2009
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. vic622

    vic622

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anybody?

     
    vic622, May 30, 2009
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. vic622

    vic622

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    WoooHooo :D

    I was able to connect using Kppp and the Sprint setup instructions and I'm sending this from my AA1 under Ubuntu!

    Use the Number #777 , and leave the p/w and u/n blank (thanks to bb147 on HowardForums for that).

    You will need to change one thing in the configuration - ooops, I need to disconnect to get the details - back in a second.

    Vic
     
    vic622, May 31, 2009
    #3
  4. vic622

    vic622

    Joined:
    May 9, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm back ...

    You'll need to change the Accounts/Edit/Dial/Authentication from "PAP/CHAP" to Script-Based this avoids the no p/w & u/n from causing an error.

    From Speedtest.net this is the download/upload/latency I got:

    dl - 2.3 Mbs
    ul - 0.23 Mbs
    ping - 269 ms

    By the way, I'm 40km from the nearest town and either 10km or 40km from the nearest tower in the middle of the Rockies with lots of trees!!!

    Vic
     
    vic622, May 31, 2009
    #4
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.