Nokia s60 drivers to use the mobile as modem?

Discussion in 'Acer Aspire One' started by elsapo, Jul 31, 2008.

1. elsapo

elsapo

Hi all,

I'm a newbie and I'm still waiting to receive my Aspire One (120GB, Linux), delivery scheduled on 30th of August.
    Since I already have a Nokia E51, and I din't want to spend more, and wait more, to get the UMTS enabled model, I'm looking forward to install some drivers, if needed, or simply edit a configuration file in the proper way to get connected with the phone modem via USB or BT, since the modem itself should not be a problem (what about the USB connection to the phone?).
    I've seen a thread about connecting a Nokia s60 to the EeePC 901 via BT (I have an BT dongle as well, but it won't simply work plugging it into the USB port!), at it looked like it is an easy task. The guy showed how to edit a configuration file, and that was all.

Is there anybody that can help me on this topic?

Thanks a lot.
    Cheers.

elsapo, Jul 31, 2008
  2. elsapo

antoniocontent

Same issue...

I just got my Aspire One and gave up trying to connect with the bluetooth dongle to my Nokia 6680, using the phone as a modem...(which was quite easy on my previous EEEPC 701 thanks to the eGPRS debian application)

...I'll be glad at least to manage to connect through the USB cable...

Any help? Thanks in advance,

a

antoniocontent, Aug 5, 2008
  3. elsapo

linker3000

linker3000, Aug 6, 2008
  4. elsapo

elsapo

Thanks a lot, I will try it out as soon as my netbook arrives. Do you know what are the services that the devices can share? Object Push is enough but what about using the phone as a modem? The BT connection is probably not enough, isn't it?

Sorry for beeing that "questioning"...

elsapo, Aug 6, 2008
  5. elsapo

Guest Guest