New USB 3.0 hardware tested out that everyone should upgrade to

Discussion in 'Storage' started by stargazer747, Oct 20, 2013.

1. stargazer747

stargazer747

I am a self employed IT Consultant, I handle anything from network wiring infrastructure installs to a simple swap out of a laptop harddrive. That being said I am sure a lot of people in this forum have done upgrades of internal harddrives, ran backups to external drives, or used an external usb optical drive for app installs or backing up data and found that waiting around for the files to copy/move or slow read/write from legacy 2.0 USB devices should no longer be tolerated.

We all have come across the arduous task of moving large amounts of data between drives or had to install software on a system that does not come with an internal optical drive or repair a computer which has a faulty optical drive. Well with the advent of USB 3.0 and at least one included on almost any of the newer systems on the market, I had made it an imperative to change out all legacy devices I use for myself and for my business and wanted to share it here with everyone:

1- ORICO 2595US3 2.5" USB 3.0 External Hard Drive Enclosure- its a tool-less case that easily swaps out laptop harddrives

2- Apricorn SATA Wire Notebook Hard Drive Upgrade Kit with USB 3.0 Connection ASW-USB3-25- attach a 2.5" SATA drive to a USB 3.0 and transfer data or clone drives with software at blazing speed

3- Archgon USB 3.0 Aluminum Ultra Slim Slot-loading DVD Burner Model MD-8102G-U3DVDRW- very fast DVDRW drive, without any tray or lid that can easily break

4- Anker USB 3.0 to 10/100/1000 Gigabit Ethernet LAN Network Adapter for Windows, Mac and Linux- when you have to move data thru a network and would like to utilize the gigabit performance

5- Cavalry "Retriever" Series EN-CAHDD2BU3C-ZB 2.5" & 3.5" Black Standalone SATA Hard Drive Duplicator + USB 3.0 Dual-Bay Dock- for both laptop and desktop drives