New theme for default Linpus desktop

Discussion in 'Modding and Customization' started by nonimage, Dec 9, 2008.

  1. nonimage

    nonimage

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have createda new 'theme' or the default Linpus desktop, as the default one is fugly. Below is a screenshot.
    Download and install instructions are here - http://www.nonimage.com/theme-for-acer-aspire-one-desktop/
    This version 0.1. I will be adding other customisation as I find the locations of the files I need to change.
    Please note, the appliation icons in the screenshot are not included in the download, you can download them from http://dlanham.com/art/sticker/ and you'll find instructions on how to add theme to your desktop elsewhere on these forums.

    All feedback very much appreciated.

    [​IMG]
     
    nonimage, Dec 9, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. nonimage

    GvidoR

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Messages:
    556
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Japan.
    I've this wallpaper on Windows Vista! I got it long before this post... :p
     
    GvidoR, Dec 13, 2008
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. nonimage

    nonimage

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's not the wallpaper that was the important part here really. It's the overall theme, with the custom boxes and the wallpaper, and it's for Linpus Linux Lite.

    Just thought someone might find it useful.
     
    nonimage, Dec 17, 2008
    #3
  4. nonimage

    ClassicS40

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    hey, i,v done all the steps in order and i dont get the result.
    what<s strange is that when i put back my images_old, renamed as images. and the i restard i get my normal setup without the backdrop ; (
    whe i put your folder as images i get my regular icons, with sqare boxes full of plain colors : (

    Could you help me determine why i dont see the correct image?




     
    ClassicS40, Dec 17, 2008
    #4
  5. nonimage

    ClassicS40

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    finally i managed to get it working : here is how :
    first i backed up all the original images from the backgouds/images folder ( having on the right side of the screen a regular file explorere window, and on the right side of the screen a (terminal app activated) sudo thunar (root access), window.

    i draged and droped my orignal root images to a new folder in my regular file explorer. - this made a copy of them
    then i draged and dropped your images to the thunar file explorer directly to the images folder.

    i was asked if i wanted to overwright the contents i answerd yes.
    the at restart the backdrop didnt come in automatically

    so i did a right click, went to : settings and then : desktop settings
    i went down that page to go and get your woody background.
    then i had to play with the luminosity : and ajusted the luminosity about 2.

    so at restart i always have to go click the show background image check box,
    or by a terminal command i can also refres the backdrop

    here is the treminal command : xfdesktop [--reload]
    is there anyway to automate the backdrop to load at start-ups?

    Thanks.
    by the way i am not responsible for any loss out of this process..
     
    ClassicS40, Dec 17, 2008
    #5
  6. nonimage

    nonimage

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm not exactly sure what you are saying, but I'm glad you managed to get it working!
     
    nonimage, Dec 18, 2008
    #6
  7. nonimage

    ClassicS40

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    instead of coping your AAO images folder then rename it to ''images''
    i simply back-up the orignal asipre contents of the image folder

    then REMPLACED the contents of original images folder with the ones you made.
    that works super fine.
    :p :p :p :p
     
    ClassicS40, Dec 18, 2008
    #7
  8. nonimage

    ClassicS40

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    here is a small youtube vid i made :
     
    ClassicS40, Dec 19, 2008
    #8
  9. nonimage

    nonimage

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for making that. It's great to see the theme on someone else's machine.
     
    nonimage, Dec 21, 2008
    #9
  10. nonimage

    gliph_writer

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    gliph_writer, Dec 21, 2008
    #10
  11. nonimage

    Timbermill

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Timbermill, Dec 21, 2008
    #11
  12. nonimage

    nonimage

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's great, thanks for doing that. I'll link to it from my post.
     
    nonimage, Dec 24, 2008
    #12
  13. nonimage

    ClassicS40

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    ClassicS40, Dec 30, 2008
    #13
  14. nonimage

    JimK

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    0
    I made my own "theme," too. But I put a bit less work into mine, but at least it's something I can stand to look at. Got rid of the search bar and the wallpaper and pared down the color palette. And gave myself a start button while I was at it.[attachment=0:idzpc5uf]Screenshot.png[/attachment:idzpc5uf]
     
    JimK, Dec 31, 2008
    #14
  15. nonimage

    SirWilliam

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    sorry to answer off-topic, but your choice would propobly be avidemux...works right out of the box...easy install...

    but back to toppic:

    where are the icons from?
     
    SirWilliam, Jan 1, 2009
    #15
  16. nonimage

    GvidoR

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Messages:
    556
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Japan.
    Thanks for your hard work guys! ;)
    I'm installing Linpus Linux Lite tomorrow so I will try out one of these. :D
    Yeah, those icons are nice, I would also like to know where you got them from. :lol:

    EDIT: OK, so I did everything but I don't get any icons :( Why ?

    EDIT 2: ...maybe because my AAO crashed when I rename "images" to "images_old" ?
    it doesnt load any icons! original or yours ! Help.. !? :oops:
     
    GvidoR, Jan 2, 2009
    #16
  17. nonimage

    SirWilliam

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    tell us exactely what you did so we might could help...
     
    SirWilliam, Jan 7, 2009
    #17
  18. nonimage

    GvidoR

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2008
    Messages:
    556
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Japan.
    I just started to the process, the second I renamed the images folder to images_old in order to back it up my Linpus crashed. I waited for a long time but I needed to reboot it. OK, so it was *booting* for a looong time (didn't go as far as desktop) and then it restarted normally but with no icons. :( I created a new folder "images" like it was, put in these new icons, restarted but no luck - still the same. Put away the images_old folder - no luck. Put original icons back - no luck. So im still with no icons... :(
     
    GvidoR, Jan 7, 2009
    #18
  19. nonimage

    w3dal

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Chelmsford, Essex
    want this added to mine, not sure how to as only just got my one.

    user guide anyone lol :lol:

    Dal
     
    w3dal, Jan 8, 2009
    #19
  20. nonimage

    rachelreveley

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the great instructions. Must be the easiest Linux instructions I have ever read. Well done.
     
    rachelreveley, Jan 8, 2009
    #20
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.