Need Help Please

Discussion in 'Acer Aspire One' started by A-one-nut, Feb 2, 2009.

1. A-one-nut

A-one-nut

Hi everyone i'm a newbie. hope some one can help. have read some of the other topics and there are some similar situations to mine.
    bought acer one have no recovery disks and i did a stupid thing and changed something in the bios. dumb dumb dumb :roll: :roll: now when i turn it on all i get is a black screen it does not boot or anything. i think i changed it to boot from an external drive or usb.
    prior to this it was booting and going through to xp no problems now its not any suggestions.
    I have a bit of computer knowledge but not with laptops.

any help would be appreciated.

A-one-nut, Feb 2, 2009
  2. A-one-nut

azz2811

if when you turn it on you are getting the light on the power switch and then fan is running but there is no screen activity well then your bios needs to be flashed.

http://macles.blogspot.com/2008/07/flashing-bios.html

this is very easy so dont be scared to do it

azz2811, Feb 2, 2009
  3. A-one-nut

dale

before doing the flashing of bios, do you still remember what are the changes you made in BIOS? maybe, its just the prioritization on booting. (hopefully). doing the flashing would require some knowledge but remembering what you change is much much more simpler.

dale, Feb 2, 2009
  4. A-one-nut

goofball

goofball, Feb 2, 2009
  5. A-one-nut

azz2811

ahh yes good point from both of you ;) thanks

azz2811, Feb 2, 2009
  6. A-one-nut

A-one-nut

you are right on the mark the boot order was changed to boot from usb why i dont know but it has caused some problems i now have an expensive paper weight.

thanks all of you guys who have giving some help. i will try all these things and let you know how it pans out.

A-one-nut, Feb 3, 2009
  7. A-one-nut

A-one-nut

hey guys just wondering my bios is version 3114. the ones on the pages you gave me link to are less. what should i do

A-one-nut, Feb 3, 2009
  8. A-one-nut

ronime