MAC address?

Discussion in 'Laptop Hardware' started by osdude, Jul 23, 2008.

  1. osdude

    osdude

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    East Coast USA
    OK, my AA1 should be here in just a few minutes, and I'll want to connect to the WiFi, but need to know where/how to find the MAC address of the WiFi. I don't even have it in my hands, but I know I'll need the MAC to connect.

    ANy suggestions? Is it easy to find?
     
    osdude, Jul 23, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. osdude

    Evidence

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cologne - Germany
    very easy to find: just use the connection manager and create a new profile for your Wifi-network, there might be a tab (the third one counted from the left to the right) called "summary" or something like that. In german it's "Zusammenfassung", there you'll find the MAC Adress of the WiFi card.
     
    Evidence, Jul 23, 2008
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. osdude

    Guest Guest

    Off the top of my head, I think IWCONFIG or IFCONFIG in the terminal will give you the info your looking for.
     
    Guest, Jul 23, 2008
    #3
  4. osdude

    osdude

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    East Coast USA
    Tausend danke!

    (I'm out of practice with German, please forgive if spelled and/or conjugated wrong)

    Now i must wait for the UPS guy to come back around :D
     
    osdude, Jul 23, 2008
    #4
  5. osdude

    Sid

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    632
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK - (most locations)
    There will be two MAC addresses one for the wired and one for wireless:

    You can find them by looking in connection manager, select LAN 0 (or a wireless connection) edit, connection properties TCP/IP
    There will be a hardware address.
    or
    If you want a bit of terminal:

    alt & F2, type the word "terminal" and then click run.
    at the prompt type "SU" <hit return>
    then type "ifconfig -a" <hit return> There is a space before the minus sign.
    you should then see something like:

    ath0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:22:68:91:84:8C
    inet addr:192.168.1.107 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
    UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:5047 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:5372 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
    collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
    RX bytes:3359909 (3.2 MiB) TX bytes:758287 (740.5 KiB)

    eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:1E:62:8C:23:91
    UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
    RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
    TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0

    The items in bold ate the MAC addresses (yours will be different)
    The ath0 is the wireless one, the eth0 is the wired one.

    There will be other stuff, ignore it.

    Guru's and geeks please correct me if I got it wrong, I am learning this stuff :)
     
    Sid, Jul 23, 2008
    #5
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.