Live update on 18/9/08

Discussion in 'Linux' started by steven.chien, Sep 20, 2008.

  1. steven.chien

    steven.chien

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    I saw many post here saying that the patch released on 18 will not work, after installation, the system will break up/corrupt, I would like to know if this is an error by Acer or by Hacks done by ourselves? (like enabling advance menu)
     
    steven.chien, Sep 20, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. steven.chien

    mzc

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    It is working. I have posted what happened in mine : viewtopic.php?f=48&t=3664

    but I think, if you already have had mods, this may cause conflicts with the updates.
     
    mzc, Sep 20, 2008
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. steven.chien

    moocherx

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did the big live update last week, and now my Acer One is useless.

    Apps work, icons have moved, but on startup "Failed to Initialize HAL!" and I cannot connect to the internet.

    Luckily, because I was on business and can't fully trust Linux machines yet, I can continue on my windows laptop.

    However, I am unable to find any fix online for the machine-crashing "Live Update", so I have to wait 4 weeks until I return to Thailand to take the Acer One back for, what will probably be, a complete system rebuild.

    I'm quite annoyed by the whole thing, and once it's up and running again, I will not automatically install live updates as they arrive.
     
    moocherx, Sep 22, 2008
    #3
  4. steven.chien

    ivor

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    Have you tweaked the configuration from the out of the box settings? updated any packages? changed the desktop? If you've done that then the Acer live update *will not work reliably*. The only guarantee is that it will update an unmodified Aspire.
    Why do you need to wait for 4 weeks to return the Acer? Can't you restore the original linpus image on the machine?

    To get your network working temporarily once you've booted, you can press Alt-F2 and start "terminal".

    then type "sudo /etc/init.d/haldaemon restart"
    you might also need: "sudo /etc/init.d/NetworkManager restart" and "sudo /etc/init.d/NetworkManagerDispatcher restart"

    Cheers,
    Ivor
     
    ivor, Sep 22, 2008
    #4
  5. steven.chien

    moocherx

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the reply.

    Other than installing Skype, nothing else had changed on the Acer.

    Also, because I"m travelling, I don't have any of the documentation (or disks? can't remember what was in the box...) to restore it (also, I'm a hopeless non-techie).

    However, I"ll try your idea for getting the network back up and running tonight, and let you know if it works!

    Cheers.
     
    moocherx, Sep 22, 2008
    #5
  6. steven.chien

    steven.chien

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    I haven't change the one much, i only install skype picasa, and real player, and also enable the right click menu. I installed the patch yesterday but nothing wrong with it. as well as i don't find any changes in the system.
     
    steven.chien, Sep 22, 2008
    #6
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.