Lenovo ideapad not loading past boot menu

Discussion in 'Lenovo / IBM' started by Joby1kinoby, May 28, 2019.

  1. Joby1kinoby

    Joby1kinoby

    Joined:
    May 28, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    My son thought it would be a good idea to do a factory reset on his laptop thinking it would help with the running speed. he suddenly realised part way through that he needed some of the photos on the laptop and cancelled it. The laptop worked fine until he restarted it and now it won't load past the boot menu, I have been into the setup via F2 and it says that there is no HDD detected.

    Has anyone got an idea of what he's done and what I can do to fix this please?

    I have attached a photo of the screen it stops at.

    Thank you

    Jo
     

    Attached Files:

    Joby1kinoby, May 28, 2019
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Joby1kinoby

    something back

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,626
    Likes Received:
    382
    Location:
    North of the Watford Gap ,UK

    There is a small hole on the side of the laptop that requires you to use a small pin to be placed in that hole.

    Look at this web page,note it is different on each ideapad.

    https://support.lenovo.com/gb/en/solutions/ht104038

    Once you have found the correct hole and after using it your laptop will start up from the off position and show you a new menu it should list factory restore.
     
    something back, May 29, 2019
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Joby1kinoby

    Joby1kinoby

    Joined:
    May 28, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    We have done that but it doesn;t give us the option to do a factory restore.

    We now have 4 options:
    • Normal startup
    • BIOS setup
    • Boot menu
    • System recovery
    Will any of those get us to the factory restore?
     
    Joby1kinoby, May 29, 2019
    #3
  4. Joby1kinoby

    something back

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,626
    Likes Received:
    382
    Location:
    North of the Watford Gap ,UK
    Try system recovery, I am not on the forum all the time,but will monitor this through the day.

    Other members may help you as well

    It looks like it's only the systems file that has been affected.

    Please inform me your model number.

    You may need to check the bios/cmos lists the hard drive,it looks like from your photo your hard drive is listed (ata hdd )
     
    something back, May 29, 2019
    #4
  5. Joby1kinoby

    Joby1kinoby

    Joined:
    May 28, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you.
    The bios says that the HDD is not detected.
    The model is: 80TJ.
    I've tried the system recovery and it just takes me back to the boot menu.
     
    Joby1kinoby, May 29, 2019
    #5
  6. Joby1kinoby

    something back

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,626
    Likes Received:
    382
    Location:
    North of the Watford Gap ,UK
    Looks like it's a replacment hard drive that required. It's a good time to update/upgrade to a ssd drive their not to expensive .

    You will need some software, a new operating system disk which can be found here.

    https://www.freewarefiles.com/Microsoft-Windows-ISO-Download-Tool_program_107698.html

    A program called rufus found here,it will help you put the ISO file on to a flash drive.

    https://www.freewarefiles.com/Rufus_program_75261.html

    A windows 10 licence Ebay sells some.

    One last program called driver booster it will help you find all the driver files after you make a new system

    https://www.iobit.com/en/driver-booster.php

    If you are not confident then ebay sell many preinstalled windows 10 ssd drives and hard drives
    just search ebay for ( preinstalled windows 10 ssd drives and hard drives )
     
    Last edited: May 29, 2019
    something back, May 29, 2019
    #6
  7. Joby1kinoby

    Joby1kinoby

    Joined:
    May 28, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you for that, does that mean he has broken the HDD when he cancelled the factory reset part way through? I'm only asking because it had been working ok up until that point, it was just slow.
     
    Joby1kinoby, May 29, 2019
    #7
  8. Joby1kinoby

    something back

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,626
    Likes Received:
    382
    Location:
    North of the Watford Gap ,UK
    The general rule of thumb is if the motherboard/bios cannot see a hard drive then it's a faulty hard drive.

    The only other test you could try is to remove the drive givern it cannot be detected on your laptop and connecting it to another computer ether by using a external/internal caddy or cable.

    Then installing a partition manager on the test computer

    All of which are available on ebay/amazon.
     
    something back, May 29, 2019
    #8
  9. Joby1kinoby

    Joby1kinoby

    Joined:
    May 28, 2019
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok, thank you.
     
    Joby1kinoby, May 29, 2019
    #9
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.