Install Windows/Softwares on a newly added SSD hard drive

Discussion in 'Storage' started by Xidir, Apr 7, 2020.

  1. Xidir

    Xidir

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey
    I replaced my Laptop "DVD Writer" with an SSD hard drive. Now I want to install Windows and my software on the SSD hard drive. Is this possible? Wouldn't that be a problem?
    Thanks,
    Xidir / Kurdistan
     
    Xidir, Apr 7, 2020
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Xidir

    something back

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,638
    Likes Received:
    385
    Location:
    North of the Watford Gap ,UK
    You can easily clone your complete system from your main drive to the ssd drive
    using a free program called BACKUPPER

    You will not be able to run the ssd from the dvd tray when you have cloned the system
    you need to make the ssd you main drive that’s swapping it over.

    The Backupper software is great for backing up your system to a separate drive
     
    something back, Apr 8, 2020
    #2
    Xidir likes this.
    1. Advertisements

  3. Xidir

    Xidir

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for your answer but I don't understand this part:
    You will not be able to run the ssd from the dvd tray when you have cloned the system
    you need to make the ssd you main drive that’s swapping it over.
    notice: I replaced my Laptop "DVD Writer" with SSD
     
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2020
    Xidir, Apr 8, 2020
    #3
  4. Xidir

    something back

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,638
    Likes Received:
    385
    Location:
    North of the Watford Gap ,UK
    Windows will not run from any other drive other than the main drive,your dvd slot will be treated as if it was an
    external drive.
     
    something back, Apr 8, 2020
    #4
    Xidir likes this.
  5. Xidir

    Xidir

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Will the problem be solved if I change places HDD (main drive) and SSD together?
     
    Xidir, Apr 8, 2020
    #5
  6. Xidir

    something back

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,638
    Likes Received:
    385
    Location:
    North of the Watford Gap ,UK
    Use the ssd for your main drive and the hdd in the dvd slot,after you have done a clone
     
    something back, Apr 8, 2020
    #6
  7. Xidir

    Xidir

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2020
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    if I install hdd in the dvd slot, Windows can run while the windows is not installed on the SSD?
     
    Xidir, Apr 8, 2020
    #7
  8. Xidir

    something back

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,638
    Likes Received:
    385
    Location:
    North of the Watford Gap ,UK
    I have no more to add
     
    something back, Apr 8, 2020
    #8
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.