How To: Remove or resize the swap partition in Linux

Discussion in 'Linux' started by mulras, Feb 27, 2009.

1. mulras

mulras

Hi,

I know there have been loads of posts about the swap partition, but I thought I would write the procedure that I used down in an easy to follow format. I'm not saying this is the right way to do it, i'm no Linux expert, but it worked for me! :)

Bear in mind that this is a potentially damaging operation. I recommend backing up first!

Firstly, I used a Fedora 10 Live USB stick as I had one to hand. If you don't have one, you can get the Fedora liveusb-creator utility here https://fedorahosted.org/liveusb-creator/

When you make a Fedora USB stick, be sure to add a small amount of persistent storage. Now that the USB stick is ready, we can start the procedure;

Firstly, disable swap partition currently active. From a terminal (Alt + F2, xfterm4) type the following command;

Code:
    sudo swapoff -a
    The swap partition is now deactivated, but will reappear on reboot. To disable it on reboot you need to edit the file /etc/fstab as follows;

Code:
    sudo mousepad /etc/fstab
    The last line in the file should read as follows;

/dev/sda2 swap swap defaults 0 0

Place a # at the start of the line and save the file. You can now reboot and test that all is ok. If you hit Ctrl + Alt + Del, the resources tab on the system monitor should show that the swap file is "0 bytes of 0 bytes".

Boot the machine using the Fedora USB stick (F12) and log into Fedora. It should automatically see your wireless card, so connect it up as we will need to add a package to the USB stick. Open a command line and install "gparted" as follows;

Code:
    su
    yum install gparted
    You need to use the su command to become root as the sudo file is empty on the USB stick.
    This should now install gparted and you should have an icon for it on the system menu. Start it up and you should see the following;

[​IMG]