Freeze at acer logo

Discussion in 'Laptop Hardware' started by yatfu, Dec 27, 2008.

1. yatfu

yatfu

Hi guys,

About a week ago, I took my aspire one to one of the big computer markets here to get a RAM-upgrade (I'm not technical enough to do these sort of things myself). What I had been afraid of from the start then actually happened, when I came back to pick up my AAO the guy said it wouldn't boot anymore. The guy said I should send it in for warranty, but as I do not know what he has done to the machine, I demanded that he'd fix it.

The guy said it will take about 2 weeks to fix, but I really need the machine now. The actual problem is that the computer freezes at the boot up screen (acer bios logo) and then just keeps sitting there. The guy at the computer market hasn't been really willing to explain the problem to me, but he says it has something to do with the bios and that it is very common. I've been doing some research online and I think maybe macles bios recovery method will work for me, but as I have not found any problems that look like mine (only the "black screen of death resembles it a bit), I'm not sure whether I should pick up the machine and try this myself.

So, I'm in need of some advice in two ways:1. is this problem a common problem and can it be fixed with macles method?
    2. Should I (might this solution not work) pick it up and send it in for warranty or let the guy fix it himself?

Thanks in advance.

yatfu, Dec 27, 2008
  2. yatfu

kank

I'm having the same problem - my AAO boots right to the acer startup screen, but after a while, all HDD activity stops and it just stays there. It goes to a blank screen (but lighted) after a while.

This happened before, but it started working again after a night with no batteries or cable. Now it's been like this for a week. Any help?

kank, Jan 4, 2009
  3. yatfu

nonogm

greetings

I have noticed sometimes - it happens oddily - that the startup is very long.