Fedora 10 headphones don't automute speakers

Discussion in 'Linux' started by noetic, Mar 9, 2009.

1. noetic

noetic

Hi all, my first post. Thanks for all the great info. I've learned a lot just from reading and lurking here.

I'm using Fedora 10 xfce spin and, overall, I'm loving the experience (I'm a total linux noob, but getting better everyday). I've hit a snag that I can't seem to find an answer for around the net. I thought maybe 1 or 2 of you might have gone through the same.

When I plug in headphones to the jack, the internal speakers do not automute; sound comes out both the speakers and the headphones. Actually, I can't seem to find a control panel with independent volume control of speakers and headphone out. So, though I'd really like to enable automute, I'd settle for manually muting the speakers without affecting the headphone volume.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

noetic, Mar 9, 2009
  2. noetic

noetic

Nobody else has this problem? If you didn't do any special audio-related configuration and your speakers just automute when you insert the headphones, please let me know also.

Thanks

noetic, Mar 13, 2009
  3. noetic

watermelon

I remember having that problem. Basically, if I recall, the alsamixer treated the headphones jack and the speakers as two different output streams. I just ended up muting the speakers on the whole as I don't really use the speakers much anyway. I'd be curious if there's a solution as well.

watermelon, Mar 15, 2009
  4. noetic

pmorris

I do! In fact I think there was quite a lot of discussion on some forums about this: In XFCE I have no automute, nor do I have any system sounds at all (apart from the hardware 'beep').
    Skype works, but only with external headset - the internal mic is dead.
    Quod Libet plays back fine.
    Is this something to do with Pulse Audio, and something that cab be 'fixed' by tweaking settings?