error message: "No bootable device"

Discussion in 'Storage' started by gabejedmo, Dec 14, 2008.

  1. gabejedmo

    gabejedmo

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I bought my acer aspire one 120 gig about a week ago. Twice now when I've went to start it up, I got a darkened screen with text informing that, among other things, there was a "Media test failure-check cable", and "No bootable device-insert boot disk and press any key". Not that you can enter any boot disk since this doesn't have a cd-rom. Fortunately in both cases I turned it off and then it started up normal after that.

    However I'm wondering if this could be a sign of things to come because the hard drive may have some issues. I haven't installed anything on the computer other than the McAfee security stuff that came with it. My friend thought it might be because I left a flashdrive in it and then had it on standby all night. Doesn't seem like that should do it but maybe I am supposed to remove such devices before putting it to bed at night.

    So to get to my point, what do you think: if it were you would you take it down to the store (since it has a two week window for returns) asap, tell them there's something wrong with the hard drive and exchange it for another one?
     
    gabejedmo, Dec 14, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. gabejedmo

    lohtse

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2008
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Where ever I'm sent....
    OOOOOOOOOOOOOoooooooooooooooooooooooooo EEEEEEEEeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeer

    Last Time I had an error like that my hard drive died(on a laptop) so had to get a new one... I would suggest you do a complete back up of your hard drive and then download and install a hard drive error checking software. Run it and see what it says.. Hopefully you may be ok...


    regards
    Andrew
     
    lohtse, Dec 14, 2008
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. gabejedmo

    kassick

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    @gabejedmo

    I have the very same issue. Apparently, the HDD isn't recognized during the first boot (though the hdd led is on for some time), so the bios goes to the next option (pxe) before failing.

    Weird enought, sometimes it works on the first boot.

    This problem started some 3 months after I bought it.

    I would advice you to replace your unit; but let us know if the new unit has the same issue
     
    kassick, Jan 8, 2009
    #3
  4. gabejedmo

    Kayode

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just started getting the same problem, but mine has never recovered. I posted a thread about it in the Beginners' Section. The AA1 I'm working with is only about 2 weeks old. :(
     
    Kayode, Jan 9, 2009
    #4
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.