Does having larger hard drives (C:) make the games faster?

Discussion in 'Storage' started by OursIsTheFury, Jun 6, 2016.

1. OursIsTheFury

OursIsTheFury

I'm not really an expert on the subject, so I have to ask you guys for help. I've always thought that a good video card, and plenty of memory would be needed to make a game run, but do you also need a large C: or main drive to make the game faster? I have always wondered about it, and I figure this forum may have the answer to what I am looking for. What do you guys think?

OursIsTheFury, Jun 6, 2016
  2. OursIsTheFury

Corzhens

I am no gamer but I have a little knowledge of the internal operation of a computer. From what I know,the video card has its own memory so it will not share in the computer's memory usage. However, the computer's memory is always full in use especially when there are programs running in the background. What the computer does is to go on virtual - using the hard disk to complement the memory. Maybe that is good reason for running faster - when you have a large hard disk, it can contribute to the speed of the operation.

Corzhens, Jun 6, 2016
  3. OursIsTheFury

Vash

A larger hard drive will not make the game go faster or smoother... unless your hard drive was already close to full (over 85% full). When a hard drive is close to full, its performance will take a hit. In other words, the fuller a hard drive, the slower it will become.

What you need is a faster hard drive. For example, a SSD (Solid State Drive) is much faster than a traditional spinning hard drive. Make sure you do not fill it up to more than 85%. So yes, in a way you need to get a hard drive bigger than you need in order to use its maximal performance.

To a game, the graphics card is the most important though. Followed by CPU and RAM.
    Hard drive will only affect its loading speed during for example change a map.

Vash, Jun 15, 2016
  4. OursIsTheFury

sparkster