CPU at 100% when lid is closed

Discussion in 'Acer Aspire One' started by cratsch, Mar 5, 2009.

  1. cratsch

    cratsch

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guys,

    my CPU load is at a constant 99-100% when I close the lid of my D150 (I switched off "go to standby when lid is closed" in the energy options).

    Have any of you experienced this problem too? What can I do about it? I read another topic in this forum where a faulty bluetooth driver is causing such loads (independent from lid status), but I'm only using the drivers that have been pre-installed on the device.

    Thanks for any advice
    Christian
     
    cratsch, Mar 5, 2009
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. cratsch

    cratsch

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys, can any of you who owns a D150 quickly check if you have the same problem? Thansk!
     
    cratsch, Mar 6, 2009
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. cratsch

    Plastikman

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry buddy I do not show these symptoms.

    I am not running the default windows install so that is probably not much help to you.
     
    Plastikman, Mar 7, 2009
    #3
  4. cratsch

    jychow

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    my D150 also exhibits this issue. But doesn't affect me coz my setting is standby when lid is close. ;)
     
    jychow, Mar 7, 2009
    #4
  5. cratsch

    Pup

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've got the same issue, it's a burden for me because I would like to leave it running closed. I wondered why the CPU fan was constantly running when lid closed, finally found this issue - closed=fan running, opened=silent, based on CPU load from System. This must be a bug and Acer should advise how to fix it.
     
    Pup, Apr 26, 2009
    #5
  6. cratsch

    AOD150BLACK

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    What power feature settings are you running?

    I have the following settings, when I close my lid my fan never turns on, and I get 12+ hours of usage by closing my lid when I'm not using my Acer. Upon opening the lid, it takes 12-15 seconds and I'm running where I left off, with up to an additional 10 seconds for wifi reconnection.

    Power Options Properties
    - Power Schemes tab
    -- Running On Batteries
    --- Turn off monitor After 15 Mins
    --- Turn off hard disks After 25 Mins
    --- System Standby After 30 Mins
    --- System Hibernates Never
    - Advanced tab
    -- When I close the lid of my portable computer: Stand by
    -- When I press the power button on my computer: Shut down
    -- When I press the sleep button on my computer: Stand by
    - Hibernate tab
    -- Enable Hibernation (checked)
     
    AOD150BLACK, Apr 27, 2009
    #6
  7. cratsch

    Pup

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    AOD150BLACK: I would really marvel if your fan would turn on while your computer is (almost) off. You've got Standby when the lid is closed, but we need it running closed. Standby = off, just RAM (and perhaps something else) powered.
     
    Pup, Apr 27, 2009
    #7
  8. cratsch

    Epedemic

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have this problem too... I would like my AOD150 to be able to run with the lid closed without hogging cpu (and thus getting warm and using up the battery too fast)

    Im running win7 RC (7100) btw.
     
    Epedemic, Apr 28, 2009
    #8
  9. cratsch

    Pup

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    By the way, also another thread on this exists here:

    viewtopic.php?f=59&t=11731

    I was googling a bit about this issue and I've found some information on ACPI interrupt storm. Could our problem have something to do with this? Closed lid sending huge amount of ACPI interrupts eating up CPU time?
     
    Pup, Apr 29, 2009
    #9
  10. cratsch

    4Just1Night

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ukraine
    Has anyone found the solution already?
     
    4Just1Night, May 25, 2009
    #10
  11. cratsch

    creepinchi

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just downloaded BIOS v1.09 and it appears to have fixed this problem.
     
    creepinchi, Jun 15, 2009
    #11
  12. cratsch

    Epedemic

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can confirm this on win7! :)
     
    Epedemic, Jun 17, 2009
    #12
  13. cratsch

    Pup

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    BIOS upgrade to version 1.11 also resolved this issue.
     
    Pup, Sep 30, 2009
    #13
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.