connecting to wifi (NOT sleep/power-up problem)

Discussion in 'Laptop Hardware' started by Jhoosier, Sep 10, 2008.

1. Jhoosier

Jhoosier

I've checked through the forums, and this doesn't seem to be covered (or it's buried in all the other wifi problems). I'm running the Linpus version I bought in Singapore.

I haven't been able to connect to a wifi network at all. I can see all available ones, including my home network, but the connections always fail. Once when I first got it, I was able to connect to a login screen in Firefox for a pay service, but since I'm a cheap bastard I didn't go any further. Since then, all attempts at wifi connections fail.

Is there an update for the wifi card, or connection manager? I'm a novice at networking and Linux, so it's entirely possible that the solution is very simple but I just can't see it. If it helps, my router's an Airlink101. There aren't many open networks here in Japan, so my only real test options are mine and someone else in my building, neither of which should be locked as my father was able to connect via his palm pilot.

Any advice is greatly appreciated. I got this thing so I could surf on the couch or whatnot, and it's not cooperating. THANK YOU!

Jhoosier, Sep 10, 2008
  2. Jhoosier

hmraao

There have been at least two Connection Manager Live Updates, that I'm aware of. You may need to use Live Update more than once, in order to pick everything up (in that respect it's not unlike Windows Update)

You may also find some useful tips here - the link is for one of my contributions, but there are other helpful remarks throughout the whole thread.

You haven't given any details of your router, other than the brand. If you included the model in the topic subject, you might get more specific suggestions:)

Ephraim Tutt takes the cases no one else wants.

hmraao, Sep 10, 2008
  3. Jhoosier

Jhoosier