Cheap, light 13-14'' laptop

Discussion in 'Which Laptop should I buy?' started by Devon Kennedy, Aug 8, 2016.

1. Devon Kennedy

Devon Kennedy

Hi all, I'm a college student looking to get a laptop (my previous one was lost to an unfortunate spillage incident that need not be discussed). I'll probably just use it for schoolwork, going on the internet, writing, listening to music, some basic photo editing - nothing too esoteric. I shouldn't spend too much money on it, so I'm looking at ones in the $600 or less range. I'm hoping for one that:

-Has Windows 10
    -Has a 13.3'' or 14'' screen
    -Has at least 4 GB of RAM and 128 GB of storage
    -Has at least 7 hours of battery life
    -Is light enough to carry around - ideally 4 pounds or less

I looked around a bit. Specifically I looked at Acer, Asus, and HP laptops, because I read that they are the more ethical companies (and narrowing it down makes this process a lot easier). I found four that seem good:

-Acer Aspire V 13 V3-372T: http://www.acer.com/ac/en/US/content/model/NX.G7CAA.001

-Acer Aspire S 13 S5-371: http://www.acer.com/ac/en/US/content/model/NX.GCHAA.002

-Asus VivoBook E403SA: http://store.asus.com/us/item/201602AM020000623/A44590

-HP Pavilion x360 Convertible Laptop (13.3’’) T5M66AV_1: http://store.hp.com/us/en/pdp/Laptops/hp-pavilion-x360--13t-laptop-t5m66av-1

I'm not sure which of these would be best, though. Does anyone have a recommendation for which out of these four I should get? Or, does anyone suggest something different? Much appreciated!

Last edited: Aug 8, 2016
    Devon Kennedy, Aug 8, 2016
  2. Devon Kennedy

Elektron