Can't find downloaded program

Discussion in 'Acer Aspire One' started by suchmuchfun, Dec 31, 2008.

1. suchmuchfun

suchmuchfun

Hello all. I tried to search before posting here but am having no luck. I followed the process for adding a root password and unlocking advanced mode successfully, and went through the add/remove programs to try downloading a game. I have 2 of these Linux based Acers, and one is my 9 yr old daughter's. She liked the simplicity of it, but I am experimenting on mine first before trying to add programs to hers.

Anyway, I went through the process and downloaded a game (ants). All seemed to go well, but now I can't find it! I would like to be able to add this game to the menu as that is pretty much te only way my daughter would understand.

Help please? I have no real knowledge but can follow instructions usually. :)

suchmuchfun, Dec 31, 2008
  2. suchmuchfun

Ace_Rimmer

Good morning ... let's see if we can get this fixed for you. I'm not at my AAO right now, so will go from memory on a couple of things.

First, when you say you "downloaded" the game, what, exactly, do you mean? If you installed via the package manager then I would expect the program to appear in the Games section of the right-click menu. Have you checked there?

If a program is installed but doesn't appear in the menu, you should be able to run it by first pressing <alt><f2> and entering the program name. I assume the name is ants, but you may need to experiment. Remember that Linux file names are case sensitive so that "ants" and "Ants" refer to different files. "ants" won't execute if you enter "Ants", for example. Also, make sure "run in terminal" is NOT checked.

Well, those are a couple of things to try at first. If you actually downloaded an rpm or something like that we will have to install it. More about that later if needed. Meanwhile, perhaps others will have suggestions.