Canon compatible photo software

Discussion in 'Linux' started by risk42, Jul 29, 2008.

1. risk42

risk42

Hi everyone!

I just had my One a couple of days :D and I'm desperately trying to connect any of my digital cameras to it.
    Yes I could use the built-in card reader but I own a Rebel XT with CF cards :(

I installed Picasa which should automatically detect the connection of a camera but nothing happen when I plug the USB cable... :cry:
    So is there a specific application I should install or do I miss something else?

Thanks! :mrgreen:

risk42, Jul 29, 2008
  2. risk42

stiopa

i have fuji s5100 and system see it like external disk, no instalation required
    maybe canon need extra drivers like sony digital cameras ?

stiopa, Jul 30, 2008
  3. risk42

Sid

As a relative noob, I cant give a direct answer.
    I would be surprised if CF card reader support was not possible it is only a masss storage device.
    Anyone want to comment on this?

Sid, Jul 30, 2008
  4. risk42

risk42

I was willing to avoid using a card reader since when I usually do that I forgot to put back the memory card in my camera... :oops:
    But anyway, good news!
    I managed to connect my 2 cameras (EOS Rebel XT & IXUS 860 IS) with gThumb and it's working perfectly!
    The ONLY thing to do is to log in root so that the USB is accessible! :D

risk42, Jul 31, 2008
  5. risk42

artisvita

could you please explain to a newby how to proceed step by step? my gthumb complains not having access to the usb device.

thanks in advance.

reinhard

artisvita, Aug 8, 2008
  6. risk42

sombrero

reinhard, the problem with gthumb (and digikam) is that these programs need root rights to connect to a camera.
    So you can either:
    open a terminal:
    Code:
    sudo gthumb
    This starts gthumb with root rights and you can connect to your camera and import your pics.
    or:
    Tune Thunar (file manager) in preferences/advanced/camera or something (I don`t know the english version) and add: