Battery/Power issues

Discussion in 'Laptop Hardware' started by DarrenCax, Sep 18, 2010.

1. DarrenCax

DarrenCax

Hi everyone. Just signed up. I'm a once-Apsire One owner but ended up trading in for something a little bigger (the tiny keyboard really bothered my hands) However...I'm a computer technician with a Aspire One in for service that's got me a little puzzled...

The computer's an Aspire One 110-1588. Basically it came in because it would turn off randomly. Thus far I've yet to see it power down under various stress tests and the like. However, the battery is not charging. Under Windows or Linux it's status is "unknown". The charge light will remain solid at times and slowly blinking other times.

One thing that kind of bugs me, the light starts to illuminate as soon as it's plugged in, the fades back off. It does this regardless if it's got the battery in or not. This doesn't seem like something that it normally should do, but I'm not quite as familiar with this laptop.

I'm beginning to lean towards hardware/motherboard issues, but I don't want to rule out the battery is simply bad. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

DarrenCax, Sep 18, 2010
  2. DarrenCax

Swarvey Moderator

Sounds to me like either the battery or the charger is cactus. But you've said that the machine runs fine with the charger, so tells me that the battery's buggered. Any idea how old the battery is? I've been running a 5,200mah in mine for about two years and it's started severely degrading over the last few months. Replacing it next week with a 12 cell 10,400mah that comes with a three yr warranty.

However the completely random shut downs were also exhibited by my machine under Windows 7 until such time as I updated to the latest BIOS. As far as I'm aware, this is bug only occurrs in Windows 7.

Swarvey, Sep 19, 2010
  3. DarrenCax

madd0ct0r