Audio recording/editing

Discussion in 'Linux' started by clanduncan, Nov 3, 2008.

1. clanduncan

clanduncan

Hi, as a newbie I'm just getting to grips with Linpus Lite, and so far so good. One of the things I want to do with this AA1 is use my usb1 based external Creative sound card. This worked fine in WinXP, where it was marked as a bog-standard usb-audio device, and I managed fine with Nero's wave editor.

If I can use it on this AA1 device I'll carry on recording and editing my vinyl collection to mp3. So any suggestions about using the USB device and getting suitable sound-editing software would be greatly appreciated.

clanduncan, Nov 3, 2008
  2. clanduncan

fritzm

I don't have an external sound card to try, so I can't help you with that part, but Audacity is wonderful for working with sound. It will let you record, edit and save to many formats, including wav and mp3. It runs very well on Windows too, so you could give Nero the boot and use the same program on both Linux and Windows. I have used both Audacity and Nero Wave editor and Audacity was much more stable and I prefer its interface.

Fritz

fritzm, Nov 3, 2008
  3. clanduncan

palingenesis

agreed, audacity is great.

palingenesis, Nov 3, 2008
  4. clanduncan

clanduncan

Thanks all. I've gotten Audacity, and on the face of it it seems like a great little programme for a great little machine. Now I just have to get my USB audio device working, while hooked up to my music system! And I'll be away.
    Now to check the hardware section of the forum . . .

clanduncan, Nov 4, 2008
  5. clanduncan

clanduncan

It's proving extremely frustrating getting my AAone to recognise my external USB audio device at all. It's a pretty simple Creative USB soundcard, aimed at hooking up to a hi-fi system with simple two-channel (stereo) lines each way in/out, plus digital optical the same.