At Wits End - To buy or not to buy

Discussion in 'Acer Aspire One' started by flamingswrd, Oct 10, 2008.

1. flamingswrd

flamingswrd

I have done a lot of research (browsing forums, trying Ubuntu, etc) about linux and the AAO and have had my sights set on one for quite some time now. Since they have started "upgrading" them with the 6-cell, Winxp versions, I cannot find one in a store to "play with." This was the last and final step in my research, since experience works much better than research. Now that I cant find one, I don't know what to do. Can anyone set me in the right direction? :|
    Keep in mind the following:
    1) I am a college student, so the SSD is a must since it will accompany my textbooks.
    2) Linux or XP, I really don't care which.
    3) Battery life should be reasonable (~3 hrs is good), since I have some opportunities to charge during the day.

*Note: Unless something changes in the next 24 hrs, all the stores in Northern Illinois do not stock the things in store...unless I want to take a field trip to the suburbs of Chicago, which I don't.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

flamingswrd, Oct 10, 2008
  2. flamingswrd

Tavel

I've used both for extended periods and I can say the WinXP with HDD is by FAR the superior choice. Linpus is fine if you're looking for a new hobby, but it's terrible if you actually want to get some work done. You'll run into endless issues with networking and software compatibility. Another probable deal killer is that Linpus doesn't support VPN's, which is probably how you connect to your University internet connection, right? The SSD is SUPER DOOPER slow, Windows won't run on it (at all) and even Ubuntu runs poorly. (It's faster to run from a USB Flash drive, how sad). You don't really need it anyway, 1.5" drives are pretty tough because of the platter's low rotational inertia.