Are these 10 tweaks safe

Discussion in 'Linux' started by Derben, Jan 20, 2009.

1. Derben

Derben

Hi,

I was going to perform these ten tweaks to my new Acer Aspire One - but just wanted to make sure they are safe and won't break anything as I'm no expert with Linux to fix it.

http://www.reghardware.co.uk/2008/09/05 ... _one_tips/

The one that looks particulary painful is the upgrade to Fire Fox version 3 as disables componants attached to version 2.

Do the tweaks look okay and should I use the Fire Fox on the Acer website instead, (or is that version 2)

Cheers

Derben, Jan 20, 2009
  2. Derben

jknights

I've done them but I've also added other customisations.

The FF3 update is not a replacement if you follow the Macles way and certainly works for me.
    I can run either FF3 or FF2 so both are installed. The FF2 parts are required unless you really know how to crack and repoint the bits in Linpus. (I dont!).

jknights, Jan 20, 2009
  3. Derben

Derben

Which is the Macles way - I'm a newby here :eek:)

Derben, Jan 20, 2009
  4. Derben

woodland

woodland, Jan 20, 2009
  5. Derben

libssd

Thanks for the pointer to the 10 Tweaks site. Suddenly, I'm much less frustrated by this thing.

libssd, Jan 22, 2009
  6. Derben

Aspiration

I tried to follow the directions installing vlc and discovered that the person writing the directions has no clue.
    The instructions say that the vlc website will tell you to install livna respository. It does nothing of the kind!
    Has anyone actually gone and looked at the page? There are downloads for different versions of fedora, none of which show up in a search for linpus lite.

Without knowing which version we are suppose to install, there is no way to discover which livna repository or anything else that is suppose to be installed.