Any airline rules I should know about?

Discussion in 'Acer Aspire One' started by Susieville, Dec 31, 2008.

1. Susieville

Susieville

Hi everyone,
    This is my first time ever taking a laptop on a plane and through check-in. Are there any rules or regulations I should know about? I intend to take it in a small tote back through check-in. I sort of remember some horror stories of them taking away computers from people.
    Any advice would help.

Susieville, Dec 31, 2008
  2. Susieville

melhiore

You are from US then. Only there CIA/FBI/whatever is taking laptops of people on airports - you know - they fight terrorism ;) In the rest of the world sometimes/very unlikely Airport Security is asking to switch laptop ON or just checking this visually... There is no need to panic...

Here is something more: http://aspireoneuser.com/forum/viewtopi ... ort#p52372

melhiore, Dec 31, 2008
  3. Susieville

JimK

melhiore is right. The U.S. terrorism police have granted themselves the "right" to seize your laptop for whatever they consider a "reasonable" amount of time. And you can only assume that they will copy the entire contents of your hard drive and run them through their anti-terror software and check all the contacts in your address book to see if you have any connection with anybody who's ever donated money to any Islamic organization or anybody who's ever attended an anti-war demonstration. Well, you get the idea. Of course, I don't know exactly what they do with your data, but I would only assume the worst.

If your laptop is encrypted they can require that you unlock it for them.

But the good news is they can (so far) only confiscate your laptop on international flights. If you're on a domestic flight in the U.S. your laptop should be safe. As a safety precaution, you shouldn't store any credit card numbers or passwords to sites that store personal information on a laptop, as they do tend to get stolen in airports.

JimK, Dec 31, 2008
  4. Susieville