Administrator Password Problem

Discussion in 'Linux' started by Mulson, Nov 5, 2008.

1. Mulson

Mulson

Hi all,

Complete Linux noob here and trying to work out where I have went wrong, I bought my one from my mate who had literally switched it on and decided he didn't want it (won it as a prize at work.) He says that he did enter a password when he first got it and today we changed it in the change password setting in options to my new password but when I attempt to install software it asks me for a password and says that the one I changed it too today is not correct?

Am I doing something wrong?

Message shown as follows: -

You are attempting to run "pirut" which requires administrative privileges, but more information is needed in order to do so.

Authenticating as "Root"

When I enter my password, I dont get an error message, the same dialog box appears again.

Thanks in advance for your help!

Mulson, Nov 5, 2008
  2. Mulson

daldred

First: passwords are case sensitive. IS there any chance you had caps-lock down when you first entered the password, or have it down now?

If not, try this:
    Do alt-F2, type 'terminal' into the box and click OK. This will give you a Linux terminal.

Now in this terminal type
    Code:
     sudo passwd user
    and you should be prompted for a new password.

Yes, that's right: you can change the user password without knowing he existing one. This is a massive hole in security on the One - it's not the usual Linux way at all. It has been discussed elsewhere on these forums!

daldred, Nov 5, 2008
  3. Mulson

Mulson

Thanks for your reply Daldred.

When i changed the password earlier it was a completely numerical entry and I am positive there were no locks involved.

To reset it just now I done exactly what you said and my password reset was successful in terminal, same situation when it comes to going to add/remove programs however, dialog box just keeps re-appearing when I hit OK.

Mulson, Nov 5, 2008
  4. Mulson

Mulson