Acer Aspire One ZG5 not working please help!!

Discussion in 'Laptop Hardware' started by matt9329, Jul 2, 2011.

1. matt9329

matt9329

My acer Aspire One ZG5 will turn on, like I hit the power button and you can hear everything come on, but there is not display at all. I recently reformatted it from windows 7 to windows 7 because it was having problems, and when i turned it on, it did this problem. Did not even goto Acer BIOS screen upon startup. I am a very experienced PC tech for any kind of laptop/desktop and I still have no clue what this is. I figured there was a bad sector or something in the hard drive, so i dissasembled the laptop, plugged it into my desktop via SATA connector, and it did not show up. So I ordered a brand new hard drive for it, made sure it was a correct replacement of course, and decided to buy more RAM while I was at it. Only 1GB because that is the max it can hold. So when I got the parts in, i installed them correctly. Well, still same problem, can't even get up the BIOS screen to boot anything from so I can put an OS on it. I have dissasembled time and time again replacing memory with old, taking all the parts off of it including CPU fan, CMOS battery, everything. And left them out for a while and put them all back together... still same thing. PLEASE HELP IF ANYONE KNOWS WHAT THIS COULD BE!!

matt9329, Jul 2, 2011
  2. matt9329

shrimp

Hi - you may have solved your problem by now, but if not, I had the same problem with my ZG5, but was just using windows XP when it happened, so not sure if it will solve your windows 7 update problem.
    I found the following solution on the internet and it worked for me, except in No.2, the only BIOS update I could find was 3309.fd :-

ISSUE : Aspire One powers on but the screen remains blank

Updating the BIOS will require a USB flash drive to store the BIOS information on during the update. To perform the update to the BIOS:

1. Go here and download and extract the latest BIOS for the netbook.