Acer Aspire 8930G Instantly Shut Off!!

Discussion in 'Acer' started by Christiaan, Jan 7, 2014.

1. Christiaan

Christiaan

Hi all

My laptop keep just shutting itself off when I stream long videos over the internet or when I use a video converter program to convert videos. It is an instant shut down. No blue screen or anything else... just straight off like when you would take the power cable out with no battery in the laptop.

I am not a total novice but probably not an expert either when it come to pc hardware but have done the following to try and fix the problem.
    • Opened and cleared laptop from any dust etc.
    • Used temp sensor program to monitor temps. Highest temp was 68 when shutting off instantly.
    • Changed the memory.
    • Updated Bios to latest version.
    • Used hardware driver update program to update drivers to latest available.
    • Formatted and reinstalled Windows a hundred times ;-)
    • Took out CPU and applied new thermal paste
    I think that is about it....

Has anyone got any other advice or suggestions please...

Many thanks

Attached is the temps just before it shut down...

Attached Files:

Christiaan, Jan 7, 2014
  2. Christiaan

Brian8gbSSDLinux

Windows own sort of Diagnostic program - Event Viewer... should show something...

Brian8gbSSDLinux, Jan 7, 2014
  3. Christiaan

Christiaan

Thank you Brian.
    Here it is...

Attached Files:

Christiaan, Jan 7, 2014
  4. Christiaan

elPaulio Moderator

Hi there,
    Had a quick look around and found this http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2028504#method3
    You say it is as if the power lead is pulled out, I take it your power pack is charging the laptop properly and your battery is still fully charged when this happens?

How long is the computer running prior to it shutting down?

Paul

elPaulio, Jan 8, 2014
  5. Christiaan

Christiaan

Hi Paul

Thank you for your post. I tend not to leave my battery in when I work off the mains. This happen when I have the battery in or not.