AAO110 wont boot, power light turns on for 1 second then off

Discussion in 'Laptop Hardware' started by jojo1224, Feb 25, 2010.

  1. jojo1224

    jojo1224

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well as the title says my AAO110 with a Toshiba 20gb hard drive and Dell 1390 wifi card wont turn on anymore, the light turns on for 1 second then turns back off. I was almost done my tablet mod too.
     
    jojo1224, Feb 25, 2010
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. jojo1224

    jojo1224

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well I screwed up, I just dropped a paper clip on it and it sparked and now the power light wont turn on.

    EDIT: Hmm seems to work again now after letting it sit. But still same problem that it will only turn on for 1 second then turn off.
     
    jojo1224, Feb 26, 2010
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. jojo1224

    jojo1224

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    So no one knows why its doing this?
     
    jojo1224, Mar 17, 2010
    #3
  4. jojo1224

    jerryt

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2009
    Messages:
    839
    Likes Received:
    0
    There was a person on this forum who fixed this problem by soldering in a new preprogramed bios chip. But there is no guarantee.
     
    jerryt, Mar 17, 2010
    #4
  5. jojo1224

    Swarvey Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just out of curiosity, would a blind flash work at all? Or is this not possible for this machine. Have you rung Acer's tech support to see if they can offer any assistance? Not sure about other countries, but here in Australia tech support is free until you're out of warranty.
     
    Swarvey, Mar 17, 2010
    #5
  6. jojo1224

    jojo1224

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried a blind flash last time I was working on it but I will try it again next time, and warranty is out of the question, its was void when I installed the new hdd, now it has a new wifi card and its also look like a tablet now.
     
    jojo1224, Mar 24, 2010
    #6
  7. jojo1224

    SonDan

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Any resolution on your problem? I posted a similar problem since I can find no resolution on this board to the black screen therefore I would love to hear your resolution if you got one. IF the warranty is only a year mine is out of warranty so I am wondering if there is something I can do to fix it.

    Thanks for reading.
     
    SonDan, Apr 19, 2010
    #7
  8. jojo1224

    Jimux

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    Please do not multi-post a single issue as it wastes time and effort. Booting is a two part process and the first part is just a second or so. You probably have a corrupt operating system file but to diagnose your problem you need to attempt to boot from an external drive or usb stick. There are numerous posts here on the subject.
    Once booted run a check on the disk partitions and check that the 'bootable' flag is set for the boot partition on the disk, and NOT for any other partitions on that disk.
     
    Jimux, Apr 19, 2010
    #8
  9. jojo1224

    jojo1224

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    @SonDan: No I don't have a fix for it. Sorry

    @Jimux: I never multi-posted this issue on here. And no its not a operating system issue, it wont boot from the old ssd or the hdd i installed and it wont boot from any usb drives. All it does is show a blank screen and the led turns on for about 1 second then shuts down.
     
    jojo1224, Apr 27, 2010
    #9
  10. jojo1224

    Swarvey Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just checking up on this one, guessing the blind flash didn't work?
    As for my query about ringing Acer, until you tell them you've modded it, they're none the wiser and may be able to offer some assistance over the phone. If they ask you to send it in, just tell them no, give 'em sum rhetoric about your local tech will fix it.
    Have you tried leaving it completely powered down, unplugged and no battery over night?
    One thing just popped into mind as I was about to click "submit", try completely disconnecting the LCD, so that there's no power or signal being sent, just completely remove it, hook up an external LCD and see if you get anywhere with that, u never know if you may have pinched a monitor cable and caused a short...
     
    Swarvey, Apr 28, 2010
    #10
  11. jojo1224

    jojo1224

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Blind flash didn't work. In the morning if I remember I will phone them. It has been unplugged and no battery for over a week. When this first happened I tried using the built in by itself and then tried my external lcd.
     
    jojo1224, May 3, 2010
    #11
  12. jojo1224

    jojo1224

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: AAO110 wont boot, power light turns on for 1 second then

    I looked over the board quickly and noticed something, PL2 which is some big grey piece in the lower left corner is missing. You can see the piece in this picture.

    [​IMG]
     
    jojo1224, Jun 13, 2010
    #12
  13. jojo1224

    jojo1224

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: AAO110 wont boot, power light turns on for 1 second then

    Could someone give me the part number or info on the big grey part in the lower left hand corner on the mobo.
     
    jojo1224, Jun 14, 2010
    #13
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.