6 Cell Battery Wont Show Status

Discussion in 'Laptop Hardware' started by Tofast4u2c, Dec 7, 2008.

  1. Tofast4u2c

    Tofast4u2c

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just replaced the 3 cell battery with a 6 cell battery. All works fine other then being able to tell how much charge is in the battery. The power meter just says unknown and power remaining is unknown. For some reason it wont recognise the 6 cell which is from Acer. Any thoughts on what to do to get the remaining power to show again? Thanks Jack
     
    Tofast4u2c, Dec 7, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Tofast4u2c

    Tofast4u2c

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Camon people someone must have a thought on this? :cry:
     
    Tofast4u2c, Jan 12, 2009
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Tofast4u2c

    jeremysdad

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Joelton, Tennessee
    Windows or Linux?
     
    jeremysdad, Jan 12, 2009
    #3
  4. Tofast4u2c

    ekianjo

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the exact same problem !

    Under Windows for me... and also under Linux (I installed Ubuntu as well).

    Anyone has any idea ?
    Is a BIOS update needed ?
     
    ekianjo, Jan 12, 2009
    #4
  5. Tofast4u2c

    ekianjo

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nobody ??
     
    ekianjo, Jan 12, 2009
    #5
  6. Tofast4u2c

    netsorcist

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Same thing here :
    7800 mAh battery > status is not shown in ubuntu (gnome and lxde) and linpus !
    > the small light (green/orange) on the AAO itself isn't woking.
    > The battery intself : is looks like it's working fine

    cat /proc/acpi/battery/BAT0/info > shows nothing

    Help needed if someone can !
    Thx
     
    netsorcist, Jan 17, 2009
    #6
  7. Tofast4u2c

    crasher

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    I have a 6-cell that i bought off Amazon and it quite happily shows me the battery level/status of it on either of my Acers
     
    crasher, Jan 19, 2009
    #7
  8. Tofast4u2c

    Acid111

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    try a new bios-update.
    I think this should fix your problem.

    There are a few bios-updates, which have new battery informations, maybe for the 6cell too.

    see the release-Notes:

    Date : 2008/08/21
    BIOS Version : v0.3301
    EC Version : 3.2

    EC:
    1. Fix AU panel brightness issue. brightness table change to 46%,47%,
    48%,49%,50%,63%,72%,81%,90%,100%.
    2. Add Sanyo and Simplo 6 cell battery in support list.

    Date : 2008/08/26
    BIOS Version : v0.3302
    EC Version : 3.1A

    Base on 3116 BIOS:
    1. Improve auto into s4 problem.
    3. Add new battery information.
    2. Remember add post time solution.

    EC:
    1. Add new battery.

    Date : 2008/09/12
    BIOS Version : v0.3305
    EC Version : 3.4

    EC(3.3):
    1. Fix sanyo battery 6 cell calibration shutdown issue.


    EC(3.4):
    1. Fix Panasonic battery 3 cell calibration shutdown issue.
     
    Acid111, Jan 19, 2009
    #8
  9. Tofast4u2c

    netsorcist

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did a bios update, but it did't change a thing on the battery status.

    Maybe it has something to do with the battery itself ? Is't there a chip (ore something like that) which gives the information of his status to the computer ?
    The capacityu of the battery is good.
     
    netsorcist, Jan 19, 2009
    #9
  10. Tofast4u2c

    ekianjo

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is there an easy way to know which maker is your battery from ? It does not say anywhere...
     
    ekianjo, Jan 19, 2009
    #10
  11. Tofast4u2c

    ekianjo

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes there is a chip in every battery to feedback information to the OS...
     
    ekianjo, Jan 19, 2009
    #11
  12. Tofast4u2c

    ekianjo

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did the BIOS update 3309 and it worked for me !
    The battery now shows the proper remaining amount !!!

    Hope you guys can solve the problem this way too...
     
    ekianjo, Jan 21, 2009
    #12
  13. Tofast4u2c

    netsorcist

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did the Bios update to 3309 and my battery isn't charging anymore ! So it does't look so good for me !
    I hope that a downgrade will help to get everything back like it was.
     
    netsorcist, Jan 22, 2009
    #13
  14. Tofast4u2c

    netsorcist

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did a downgrade of the bios, back to the first, and I 'think' (still can't see status) that the battery is charging.
    After a half hour of charging ik can write this article. Otherwise the AAO stopped after a few seconds.
    I'll maybe try the other updates an other time, when I have the courage again.
     
    netsorcist, Jan 22, 2009
    #14
  15. Tofast4u2c

    ekianjo

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Why would a bios update prevent the battery recharge ?
    Were you able after the bios update to at least go into windows? Did the battery show its status ?
     
    ekianjo, Jan 23, 2009
    #15
  16. Tofast4u2c

    netsorcist

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    As you can read here :
    http://macles.blogspot.com/2008/12/acer-aspire-one-bios-3309.html
    It should be fixed with version 3309.
    My battery (7800 mAh) didn't charge anymore after update to 3309, and there was still no status shown. (my battery which I got with the AAO acted normal and did charge and my status was shown)
    So I downgraded my BIOS again to the first version.
     
    netsorcist, Jan 23, 2009
    #16
  17. Tofast4u2c

    ekianjo

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    My battery was a Sanyo and it was mentionned that a newer version of the BIOS could support it. Who is the maker of your battery ?
     
    ekianjo, Jan 24, 2009
    #17
  18. Tofast4u2c

    netsorcist

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't know. I can't find a brand on that thing. I bought it on ebay for only 67 euro. Maybe it was a little to cheap for a battery with a brand. :D
     
    netsorcist, Jan 24, 2009
    #18
  19. Tofast4u2c

    Flibb

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can you tell me which bios you downgraded to? I too got a 7800mAh battery, and after completely discharging it, now it doesn't charge at all. I am also on 3309...
     
    Flibb, Jan 27, 2009
    #19
  20. Tofast4u2c

    netsorcist

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    netsorcist, Jan 28, 2009
    #20
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.