Thinking about a new laptop, can anyone help?

Discussion in 'Which Laptop should I buy?' started by blaze23, Nov 27, 2014.

1. blaze23

blaze23

Hi all, I'm new to the forums and I am looking to buy a new laptop. I was hoping somebody could help me. I am currently a college student going for an engineering degree. I'm not to familiar with computers, but I do know with all the CAD I plan on doing, I will need a solid laptop. My budget is only up to $1,000. I have done previous research on laptops, and most of my choices came to gaming laptops because of their graphics capabilities. Again, I am a college student, so I will use this for things other than school and gaming.

I am looking for a laptop that is 15.6" and i7.

I have narrowed down my search to 5 different laptops. I have made an exception for 2 of the options on the budget because I thought these laptops were very exceptional.

1. MSI GE60 Apache -033 15.6-Inch Laptop

2. ASUS ROG GL551

3. Lenovo Y50

4. Lenovo Z50

5. Toshiba Satellite P50

Comments:

I am mostly leaning towards the MSI at this point. I like the specs and from the reviews I have read and seen online, it looks like a really solid computer. The customizable keyboard is a plus :).

I have read reviews on the ASUS ROG and it seems there is a lot of trouble with the sound quality and the keyboard. This is still a top contender though because of its price.

For the Lenovo laptops, I thought they both have excellent specs and I have heard good things about Lenovo. I don't exactly see much of a difference from the two laptops other than the price (Thoughts?).

The Toshiba P50 is a top choice because of its touchscreen option. The link I attached doesn't show my customizations to it, but overall it will come below $1,000.