My touchpad is over-sensitive

Discussion in 'Laptop Hardware' started by clair02, Sep 23, 2016.

1. clair02

clair02

Please advise me on how to make my laptop touchpad less sensitive. A lot of times when I'm typing something, it just clicks on something by itself. It's very annoying and sometimes it affects my work when something gets accidentally deleted. Is there a way to make it stop doing that? I'm a total noob and I'm seriously tech-challenged so I couldn't figure it out by myself.

clair02, Sep 23, 2016
  2. clair02

Novelangel

First of all, buy yourself a little mouse designed to work with a laptop. Hook it up, and then switch off the touch pad. There should be a little on/off switch located somewhere on the touch pad itself, or nearby. I had this issue myself, years ago, when I would be typing something and the heel of my hand would accidentally hit that stupid thing, causing my screen to roll around on me. This isn't good when you're writing because if you don't notice it right away, you could end up with a mucked up dialogue or whatever. Now whenever I use a laptop, I automatically hook up a mouse and turn off the pad. It makes life a lot easier. ;)

Novelangel, Sep 23, 2016
  3. clair02

rz3300

I would hope that there is something in the settings where you can play with some kind of adjustment, but that said, in my experience these really do not make all that much of a difference, and it is usually something beyond that. I guess you never know though, but I I hope ti is not the case where you are going to have to go with something new. Best of luck to you.

rz3300, Sep 23, 2016
  4. clair02

Fuzyon

I don't think there's anything you can do about it, touchpads are notorious for being really bad on most of the laptops on the market (except on Macs) so unfortunately there's not a lot you can do. I guess you could try turning off your pad while writing and re-opening it while navigating but that's really tedious.

Fuzyon, Sep 23, 2016
  5. clair02