Good News Acer Aspire One 751H Users!!

Discussion in 'Acer Aspire One' started by Tecmasters, Aug 6, 2009.

  1. Tecmasters

    Tecmasters

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Hello I am a infomation Technology Specialist,

    I recently bought the 11.6 Pro as well and have witness the slowdown on video performance. This is unaccpetable so i did some hardcore research on finding a solutions and I love to share it users who own the 11.6. Currently I have windows 7 installed on mines and what i did noticed is the driver for the Intel GMA 500 version is ver 1095. This version is really an old and outdated version. So what I came across is you need to download version Intel Atom drivers version 4.0: (7.14.10.1005). This however works on Windows Vista and Windows 7 only. You will have to maually install the driver though.. So I loaded this version up and all of a sudden i noticed the video playback on youtube is better!! Fullscreen !! YES!! The only drawback is when viewing in HD small screen it works fine but in fullscreen it lags!! Here is the orginal text I copied from this website:

    GMA 500

    As of june 2009, best available driver revisions are:

    Version 6.14.11.1012 for Windows XP.

    Intel Atom drivers version 4.0: (7.14.10.1005), for Windows Vista or 7. While a driver 7.14.10.1095pv also exists, it is older. Under .1095pv, desktop transparency in Windows 7 will often lead to BSOD.
    Note: The "setup.exe" included with the driver update will often fail to properly detect hardware and refuse to run. To install the driver in Vista/Windows 7, one must go into Device Manager -> Display Adapters -> GMA 500 -> Driver tab -> Update driver, and manually locate the driver folder, then proceed with installation. Doing so enables full video acceleration and eliminates the stuttering and poor performance seen on Windows XP and previous Vista/Windows 7 drivers. This greatly benefits basic functions such as web page scrolling or Adobe Flash playback.

    This solution help solved my problem and i hope it solves yours as well!! Here is the link to download it:
    http://downloadcenter.intel.com/Detail_ ... iid=dc_rss

    If you have any question or help, feel free to contact me at pctecmasterz@msn.com or post a reply!
    Let me know if this solve your problems as well!!
    Tecmasters, Aug 6, 2009
    #1
    1. Advertising

  2. Tecmasters

    Tecmasters

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Update:

    The driver i posted earlier also works in HD while viewing on YouTube FULLSCREEN!! Another great news!!
    Tecmasters, Aug 6, 2009
    #2
    1. Advertising

  3. Tecmasters

    Tecmasters

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    UPDATE:
    VLC
    Watching avi movies in fullscreen using VLC works as well!! No lags or jitters!! I will continue to post more test when I get the time.
    Any requests for me to test out, post them and I will get to it ASAP!

    HULU
    Watching video in standard def in small screen runs smooth but when in full screen, it jitters!
    Watching video in HD in either modes is awful!
    Tecmasters, Aug 6, 2009
    #3
  4. Tecmasters

    babysvt

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Thanks so much for this information. It is making me a little less nervous about ordering the 751 with Vista on it. I usually only watch shows on ABC.com and have had no problems and haven't watched much Hulu. Is there a difference between the way the two sites videos work? I usually select the HD option on ABC.com but this was on the 751 running XP with the 1GB ram. The new system will come with 2GB ram but also will have Vista due to this being the only way Cosctco offers the bigger system. I was planning on getting this system ordered this week and your testing is a tremendous help in my decision. :D
    babysvt, Aug 6, 2009
    #4
  5. Tecmasters

    Tecmasters

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Yes on Youtube it uses Adobe Flash video while Hulu uses streaming and flash video as well... I'm glad it helped you on your decison! When you do buy the 751H make sure you get the one that comes with the 6 cell battery. The 3 cell only last about 2 hours and 30 mins. Last I remember is the 751H with a 6 cell battery 160GB Hard Drive and 1GB of ram will cost $349.99.
    The 2GB with 250GB Hard drive is running for $399 and some places are selling them also for $349.99 but it only comes with the 3 cell battery... I own the Acer Aspire One 751H and the Gateway LT3000 series, based on your needs it depends on what you are gonna use it for. If youre into watching movies on the road then I'd go with the Gateway because it outperforms the 751h but at a cost of battery life while the 751h has a longer battery life but the video playback is ok...
    Tecmasters, Aug 6, 2009
    #5
  6. Tecmasters

    SuperDave

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Tecmasters:

    Just wanted to thank you for taking the time to post about this. You posting that driver has stopped me from having to ship my 751h back! It would randomly freeze before and I wasn't able to get the driver from Intel's site. Using the driver on this page though did the trick. I can't thank you enough! Check out my post in another thread for more info here: http://www.aspireoneuser.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=87&t=16164&p=99432#p99432
    SuperDave, Aug 7, 2009
    #6
  7. Tecmasters

    c921

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    78
    Great info!
    I've been searching for this for the past 3 days already.
    i already got 2 units of the same model 751h-1893.
    Both have the same problem... freezing or the lock ups. I thought it was some hardware issues since I already upgraded all the drivers.

    I tried installing the new driver for the intel GMA 500 but not manually.

    I just came from the store from where I bought it and returned the 2nd unit because this also caused me more lock ups just afer using it for 20 mins without opening any programs.
    I was almost forced to downgrade the model just to have the 2 units replaced... I will sacrifice the 6 cell battery just to have a "working" unit. But good thing, they don't have the one with the 3 cell in stock so I will still get the same model with the 6 cell for a "THIRD REPLACEMENT" tomorrow. Yup, you read that right, a third replacement already!

    When I get my replacement I will be updating this and hopefully, I wont be going back to the store for another one.
    Thank you so much for this FIX! I was losing hope already! =)
    c921, Aug 7, 2009
    #7
  8. Tecmasters

    Tecmasters

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Your welcome and I see you're an IT person as well!! One thing I did noticed is with the new driver, it did locked up on me once and went BSOD... The reason for it was the video adapter timed out and was trying to reset the video card... A quick fix I did was reloaded the orginal drivers and then load the driver I posted. Ever since then it hasn't lock up on me and no BSOD. Oh and make sure don't let Windows Update download the video drivers!! Or it will lock up again! I have noticed that the driver I posted is somewhat new but is still in its beta stage since it is still not using its true potential yet.
    Tecmasters, Aug 7, 2009
    #8
  9. Tecmasters

    Tecmasters

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    I know how you feel! I was about to give up the same way but then I didn't believe in giving up without a fight since that's what Information Techs do. We do extensive research and find a solution. I'm all about helping people and it brings me great joy hearing people are happy that they got theirs to work! Also for those who have purchased a Gateway Netbook and thinking about upgrading to Windows 7. Get ready for a headache!! I have the Gateway as well, I figured when I installed Windows 7. It would load all drivers but nope! The only driver was missing was the Wireless lan card. Gateway support site has the drivers but it is not for that model! So I found out the Wireless card is Arethos AR5B05 Card but none of them are on the Gateway website. A way to obtain the driver is run Windows Update have it search for the drivers online and youre good to go!
    Tecmasters, Aug 7, 2009
    #9
  10. Tecmasters

    soccerballtux

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Tecmasters I can't imagine what a nightmare this is for the stores that are selling them.

    You should contact Acer, make some noise until they listen, and forward this thread to them with the link to the correct drivers. They need to make a new Windows Vista image with this driver (instead of the old one) and contact Microsoft to have them update their Windows Update to use this driver.

    My ao751h (6cell) is on the way and I'm glad to hear this has been ironed out. Future is grand for the GMA500; these drivers are only going to get better.
    soccerballtux, Aug 8, 2009
    #10
  11. Tecmasters

    soccerballtux

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    OK I just sent MS an email about this; here's to hoping they'll look into it.
    soccerballtux, Aug 8, 2009
    #11
  12. Tecmasters

    ttman

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    also did the update, so far so good!
    ttman, Aug 8, 2009
    #12
  13. Tecmasters

    soccerballtux

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    Got a reply back, they've already forwarded to the correct department. They'll probably look into it.
    soccerballtux, Aug 8, 2009
    #13
  14. Tecmasters

    c921

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    78
    ** Update

    So I just got my 3rd replacement netbook this morning, same model the AO751h_1893 with the 6 cell.
    First thing I did was to uninstall all the preinstalled softwares acer put in here.
    Then I updated the Intel GMA500 graphics accelarator media card manually.
    So far so good! I can say now that this netbook is not S-L-O-W anymore, not very fast but acceptable. Everything is running smoothly.
    I only had a freeze when i was restarting but I could hold the power button and it shut down unlike before I had to take out the battery or the power cord.

    I'm lovin the AO751H now. This thread is very very helpful. Hope Acer and Microsoft update their websites and put this fix. Imagine what I have gone through and from the store where I bought this.
    Thanks again!
    c921, Aug 8, 2009
    #14
  15. Tecmasters

    rothenborg

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Any hope if you are running XP ?
    Mine freezes every now and then - and cant really find a pattern when it is doing it.

    Best Regards,
    Simon
    rothenborg, Aug 8, 2009
    #15
  16. Tecmasters

    soccerballtux

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    39
    As of june 2009, best available driver revisions are:

    Version 6.14.11.1012 for Windows XP.
    soccerballtux, Aug 8, 2009
    #16
  17. Tecmasters

    rothenborg

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Okay - then I just have to wait till they release a better driver - or upgrade to Vista og Win7.
    Thx for the answer.
    rothenborg, Aug 8, 2009
    #17
  18. Tecmasters

    ttman

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Messages:
    26
    i just wanted to say it appears using this driver has made my unit stable when using the setfsb program.

    before when I 1st ran setfsb, my unit was stable, then I updated the chipset driver and it would lock up or maybe it was just a co-incidence. but OC'ing the FSB (140+) would lockup the unit. now after the video driver update, I don't have the lockup issues yet.

    Keeping fingers crossed & liking it

    TT
    ttman, Aug 9, 2009
    #18
  19. Tecmasters

    Drjones

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2009
    Messages:
    132
    How certain are you about this driver issue?

    I downloaded the "updated" driver from the link you provided, but when I clicked on the setup.exe, it informed me that the version installed on my 751h (1095) is newer than the one I was trying to install over it; 1005; the one you suggest installing.

    Can someone please clarify?

    Thanks!!!
    Drjones, Aug 9, 2009
    #19
  20. Tecmasters

    josh5183

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Drjones,

    It's odd, the newest version has a lower "version" number than the previous one (or one that came default with Windows 7). The one with Windows 7 has a build date of December, 2008 whereas the newer one has a build date of June, 2009.

    And not to rain on this parade, but a user (Bols) introudcted this forum to the new drivers over a month ago: viewtopic.php?f=87&t=15466. :)

    -Josh
    josh5183, Aug 9, 2009
    #20
    1. Advertising

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

It takes just 2 minutes to sign up (and it's free!). Just click the sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.
Similar Threads
  1. pinchez

    Good News 16GB SDHC Works

    pinchez, Jul 21, 2008, in forum: Laptop Hardware
    Replies:
    21
    Views:
    2,892
    Negative_Zero
    Aug 31, 2008
  2. Gildas

    Good news re HSDPA/3G for Linux

    Gildas, Aug 29, 2008, in forum: Networking / Wireless / 3G / HSDPA
    Replies:
    24
    Views:
    3,177
  3. markw10
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    461
    RNinHarbor
    Mar 27, 2009
  4. dattaway

    Acer Aspire One in the local news

    dattaway, Apr 18, 2009, in forum: Off-Topic
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    1,786
    Shrike
    Sep 4, 2009
  5. lightt

    Important Acer Aspire One 751h Bios Recovery

    lightt, Mar 2, 2010, in forum: Acer Aspire One
    Replies:
    37
    Views:
    27,793
    mj4tech
    Mar 22, 2013
Loading...

Share This Page