yum install fedora-release

Discussion in 'Linux' started by 16shells, Jan 1, 2009.

1. 16shells

16shells

Hello. Wasn't sure where to post this but thought since I am a beginner on Fedora (I'm normally an Ubuntu user), I thought I'd ask here.

I have seen several times in my searches of this forum the recommendation to use the command "yum install fedora-release" and/or "yum update fedora-release". I know enough to know that yum is similar to apt-get, but what exactly am I installing when I install or update the "fedora-release" package? Will this cause issues with live update?

This is my daughter's AA1 and I want her to be able to maintain it but would also like to be able to install some additional apps and functions that don't seem to be available without these commands (Amarok, fusion-icon, etc..)

Any information would be appreciated.

Thanks.

16shells, Jan 1, 2009
  2. 16shells

jinx022

jinx022, Jan 1, 2009
  3. 16shells

16shells

I apologize if I'm being overly cautious but when you say update the repos, are you saying that this action just re-points to the official fedora 8 repos? Why do have to install something to do that? can I use these same repos to perform updates or does the AA1 have a customized kernel? and what is the differance between "install" and "update" in these commands?

Sorry for all the questions, just don't to mess things up for my daughter.

Thanks.

16shells, Jan 1, 2009
  4. 16shells

whyay

It is safe to run this command. This command will add to your repository the packages signed with a new key. If you don't run this command, you can have problems with dependancies, because your system will not accept packages with an unknown key. In your repositories you will see a repository named "new key".

whyay, Jan 1, 2009
  5. 16shells

16shells

Thanks! But which is it: install fedora-release or update fedora-release?

16shells, Jan 1, 2009
  6. 16shells

whyay