Wireless card not working and can't be found

Discussion in 'Acer Aspire One' started by pamic, Jun 14, 2012.

1. pamic

pamic

I'm a newbie and at a loss.
    My XP netbook lost the wireless card all of a sudden.
    The switch doesn't work and I don't see it under the device manager for network adaptors.
    I've read some other threads that are close to my problem and tried the driver update download for wireless LAN from Acer but no change.
    Perhaps my card is toast, but I wanted to find any other solutions to avoid opening up the notebook.
    I would appreciate any suggestions

pamic, Jun 14, 2012
  2. pamic

Swarvey Moderator

Reinstalling or replacing a driver isn't going to do much if the card isn't being detected by the os. I would have to assume the card has died. However, depending on you computers model, you will more than likely find an access panel specifically for getting to the Wi-Fi card. Before replacing the card, try removing it, booting the laptop, shut it down again, then reinstall the card, bout the laptop again and see if it makes any difference.

Swarvey, Jun 15, 2012
  3. pamic

Nestone50

What model do you have? As your OS is Windows XP, I assume it's an older one. Perhaps an AOA-150?
    In Device Manager under Network Adapters, did you expand that by clicking on it? If the computer "sees" the wireless card it would be there.
    If the wireless card is indeed dead, the easiest thing to do is to buy a cheap mini USB dongle like the one here: http://www.meritline.com/micro-usb-...hq_e=el&hq_m=2464610&hq_l=107&hq_v=272b5629ee
    For $7, that will get you up and running. The dongle only sticks out about 1/4 inch so you can leave it in all the time. This way you don't have to open up the case and risk further damage.

Nestone50, Jun 15, 2012
  4. pamic

pamic

My model is AO250

Swarvey, thanks for the suggestion. I see you may have the same model.
    Would you be able to direct me to that access panel then?