will this harddrive work with the aoa-150?

Discussion in 'Storage' started by xQuestx, Dec 27, 2008.

  1. xQuestx

    xQuestx

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    xQuestx, Dec 27, 2008
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. xQuestx

    goofball

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    710
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes
     
    goofball, Dec 27, 2008
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. xQuestx

    emilhaug

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Goofball: are you sure? it is an 7200 RPM drive!

    I was also wondering if it workd, since I also have that HDD lying here.
     
    emilhaug, Jan 10, 2009
    #3
  4. xQuestx

    DiSK

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    176
    Likes Received:
    0
    Why wouldn't it work? The 7200RPM has nothing to do with the AAO, that's how fast the HDD is. As long as it is a SATA 2.5" drive.
     
    DiSK, Jan 11, 2009
    #4
  5. xQuestx

    goofball

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    710
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sure, why would the RPM make a difference? As mentioned, the phyiscal size/interface is important, not the RPM, in determining compatibility.

    FWIW, I have a 7200rpm drive in the AAO now.
     
    goofball, Jan 11, 2009
    #5
  6. xQuestx

    jeremysdad

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Joelton, Tennessee
    Which drive do you have installed? So from your experience, it speeds up the machine overall (boot times, general tasks, etc)?
     
    jeremysdad, Jan 11, 2009
    #6
  7. xQuestx

    emilhaug

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok, I'm sorry people I just thought that it might withdrew
    more power as it goes faster!?

    I know it must be 2.5 ":)

    Thank you
     
    emilhaug, Jan 12, 2009
    #7
  8. xQuestx

    goofball

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    710
    Likes Received:
    0
    seagate 7200.3, i believe you also asked about it in another thread.
    It makes a nice difference, things are snappier and it doesn't affect heat all that much, contrary to popular belief. Not more than the 5400.5 it replaced (also 320gb).
     
    goofball, Jan 12, 2009
    #8
  9. xQuestx

    tim149

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got a Acer Aspire One A110-AW will 2,5 inch SATA HDD's work in my laptop cuz this SSD is kinda snail speed with windows running :?: :?: (im from holland idk if that matters but maby ...)
     
    tim149, Jan 14, 2009
    #9
  10. xQuestx

    ronime

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    486
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    West Yorkshire, UK
    Good point, but according to the specifications on the Western Digital web site, this Scorpio black has the same power consumption as the 5400rpm Scorpio Blue version.

    A version of this drive is also available with a free-fall sensor (WD3200BJKT)
     
    ronime, Jan 14, 2009
    #10
  11. xQuestx

    ronime

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    486
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    West Yorkshire, UK
    No, the A110 does not have the SATA connector on the motherboard. You can solder one on yourself but there are issues with the power side of things and there is not really enough room in the bottom of the 110 case for the 2.5" drive (the A150 models have a different case).

    You can get a 1.8" SSD that will outperform any conventional 2.5" hard disk, if speed is important to you and cost is not an issue.
     
    ronime, Jan 14, 2009
    #11
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.